We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What currency?

Warrington, United...
Level Contributor
15 posts
1 review
Save Topic
What currency?

Im staying at the hard rock resort in may. Its my first time to this destination and wondered what the best currency was to take?

Shasta Lake
Level Contributor
55 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What currency?

A lot of the tourist oriented places will take US Dollars but paying in pesos usually works out better.

Don't exchange money at the resorts they give you a VERY poor exchange rate. Personally I like to bring enough money to get me started and then find a ATM to withdraw money from. Usually you get the best exchange rates that way, Right now it is about 42 pesos to the US Dollar. Usually you will have to pay some sort of fee (I.e. $1.50) per withdraw so it is best to take out larger chunks of money, just don't take out so much that you will have a lot to exchange on the way home.

MTL
Level Contributor
4,829 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: What currency?

USD is widely accepted for everything... If you plan on spending lots of time "off" resort then Peso's will get you better prices.

If you plan on using bank machines in DR the money will be dispensed in Peso's. If you do plan to use bank or credit cards be sure to inform your financial institution that you will be in DR so they don't block the cards after first use in fear of fraud.

Edited: 9:58 am, December 12, 2013
murillo
Level Contributor
6,320 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: What currency?

in 10 years have only used US $ ... How much would you save changing to Pesos... ? I never understand why you would on a one week stay ... a month or more maybe ...

MTL
Level Contributor
4,829 posts
1 review
Save Reply
4. Re: What currency?

@bomberro,