We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

how much $$ is everyone bringing??

Boston
Level Contributor
131 posts
Save Topic
how much $$ is everyone bringing??

I'm not sure how much cash to bring with me, for tips, excursions, etc...

stoney creek
Level Contributor
2,243 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: how much $$ is everyone bringing??

I always bring $1000 american. $500cash and $500 travelers checks. I always have plenty and whatever is left I spend it in the airport on the way home.

Boston
Level Contributor
131 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: how much $$ is everyone bringing??

wow!!! that seems like alot! Then again, I'm a poor college student soo...

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13,161 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: how much $$ is everyone bringing??

Chelsea, I bring 100-150 in 1's for tips to maids, waiters, bartenders, bellmen, transportation guys. 100 in 5's, 100 in 10's and 200 in 20's I charch any big stuff like spa and excursions on credit cards I have set aside just for that. Remember to call your credit card company before you leave home to let them know you might be using your card outside of the USA.

all the best,

baltobabe/mt

Mentioned in this post
United States
United States
North America
Ontario
Level Contributor
798 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: how much $$ is everyone bringing??

Chelsea, we just got our money today, we have a thousand too but that is for a family of four, . We have 100 for tipping and honestly I don't know what the other money will be for as any excursions will be on Visa. We bought snorkling gear and two inflatable boogie boards and that is what I plan to do for the whole week.....

West Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
98 posts
Save Reply
5. Re: how much $$ is everyone bringing??