We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safe to have Ice Cubes????

Calgary-from...
Level Contributor
1,451 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Safe to have Ice Cubes????

Hello,

I was just speaking with my parents, and the question came up about Ice Cubes. Since I am the one who has planned this whole trip, and its my first time to Punta Cana, I was wondering if anyone knows if It is all right to eat/drink the ice cubes at the resorts????? I am staying at the Grand Flamenco, does it matter which resort you are staying at????

Any info would be awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks!

Mentioned in this post
Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Norwich, United...
Level Contributor
137 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Safe to have Ice Cubes????

hi holly913. i think you will find ice is shipped in from the u.s

Ontario, CAN
Level Contributor
149 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Safe to have Ice Cubes????

Hi Holly

Well it's really up to you I guess.

For myself I don't want to take any chances, so I'm sticking to bottled water, and no ice! I'm sure there are some resorts that have ice made from purefied water. Actually I read that you can tell if the ice is made from purefied water if it has like a little hole in it...

You should probably get a Hepatitus A, B, C (whichever one it is) shot before you go though, if you are planning on drinking the water, just to be on the safe side?

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
71 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Safe to have Ice Cubes????