We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How safe is Santo Domingo for a first time visitor?

Chicago
1 post
Save Topic
How safe is Santo Domingo for a first time visitor?

This is my first time in Santo Domingo and I've heard good and bad things about the surrounding areas. Does anyone have any advice on where to go and where not go?

Twin Lakes...
Level Contributor
1,756 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How safe is Santo Domingo for a first time visitor?

The hubby and I were in Santo Domingo a year ago and we loved it.I felt very safe in the Colonial zone as politur(tourist police) were everywhere and they do speak English. One of them walked me six blocks when I asked him the best place to buy bulk coffee.Being from Chicago(a city I'm very familiar with),you'll be blown away with the shopping on El Conde. It's not just the souvenir stuff you'd find at the beach resorts, it's some high end stuff at unbelievable prices.

I would advise finding a guide(ask at your hotel) when you visit the historical sights tho, as there are a lot of people hanging around those places trying to sell stuff and a guide can act as a buffer. Noone bothered us in 3 days, maybe just lucky.

The only place I felt a little uneasy was waiting for a taxi on a dark street in front of a restaurant someone recommended outside of the Colonial zone.All turned out well but I don't think I'd do that again.

Good luck with your trip.

I wish we were going back soon.

vancouver
Level Contributor
2 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How safe is Santo Domingo for a first time visitor?

i am a single female in my 20s that was travelling alone to santo domingo for the first time. i speak very basic spanish but was in SD volunteering for most of february.