We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kagn: Snorkelling tips

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,300 posts
Save Topic
Kagn: Snorkelling tips

Kagn I'm reprinting a post I made at Debbies Caribean web site regarding snorkelling. Its a bit long, so pour yourself a glass of rum, put your feet up and read on:

I am by no means an expert at snorkelling but I am deeply interested in it. Snorkeling is the most important activity for me when I plan a vacation. Everything else comes second. I thought I would try and put together some information on the topic as many people new to snorkelling always seem to ask the same questions. Feel free to add what ever thoughts you have as I am sure that I probably missed important tips.

Should I bring my own equipment?

Resort equipment is often worn out and unavailable, when the sea is calm and the weather is nice, everyone wants the equipment at the same time. There is usually not enough to go around. The problem is compounded when the clients (us) do not return the equipment back on time. It can be frustrating for the resort employee who has to handle the sometimes irate clients who to have to repeatedly return because the equipment is not available as requested. You are limited to how much time you can borrow the equipment. It’s very hard to assess how much time has gone by when you’re in the water and who wants to worry about that when you’re enjoying yourself. More often that not, the masks will leak, are scratched, and the mouthpieces of the snorkels are chewed up. Issues of hygiene are another matter all together. Was the mask and snorkel mouthpiece washed after the last use? Not always.