We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

From San Diego

Which Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
48 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
From San Diego

Hey, Need some help. Want best route and intinerary from San Diego in mid june for six nights traveling from san diego up through best route to see Sequoias and/or Kings Canyon or Yosemite and maybe down pacific coast line back down to San Diego. How many nights at each? Recommended stops, etc. Thanks.

Los Angeles
Destination Expert
for Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Level Contributor
10,966 posts
106 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: From San Diego

I'm not an expert on routes out of San Diego, but take the 5 northward to the 99 and then past Bakersfield to Visalia. You have two choices for getting into the parks (see below). Since it takes us 5 hours from where we join the 5 to get to SNP, and it takes us 4 hours to get to SD (if all traffic conditons are go), I'm saying 9 hours would be a good guess - plus a bit more for your extra stop for gas. There is no gas in the park, so be sure to gas up before going up the mountain.

Choice one is more scenic (it's featured on TA's Sequoia National Park page). That's the 189 and you'd hit it just north of Bakersfield. It's winding, and it takes you up and up, through many different ecosystems (look for the little springs/waterfalls as you climb higher). First you get into pine and cedar forest (once you're past the oaks) and you think it's all amazing - and then come the Sequoias.