We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2014 Trip Plans - Need Your Recommendations

buffalo
Level Contributor
1,628 posts
1 review
Save Topic
2014 Trip Plans - Need Your Recommendations

I am planning on pairing my annual trip to Glacier National Park (where I've spent 118 nights since 2008) with 5 nights at North Cascades (my first visit). The dates of the North Cascades part of the trip are probably 8/23/2014 - 8/28/2014.

I am planning on car camping and doing 4-5 day hikes...

So this is my "I'm a newbie and clueless about the Park and need suggestions" post...

Where would be the best place to camp for 5 nights...or based on the best day hike trailheads, should I split the 5 days between two locations?

What are the best 4 or 5 day hikes for scenery...I like longer day hikes (up to 20 miles and say 3,500 feet of gain/loss)...

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
758 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2014 Trip Plans - Need Your Recommendations

Hi ToddNick, welcome to this forum. I went to GNP twice this year, you and other DEs on that forum were tremendous help. You are looking at N. Cascade Hwy region (Hwy 20)? and are you planning to spend any time in Mt. Baker area?

buffalo
Level Contributor
1,628 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: 2014 Trip Plans - Need Your Recommendations

Thanks for the kind words about Glacier...

Goal #1 - Stay at either one or two campgrounds for the total of 5 nights (within 90 minutes of daily trailheads)...

Goal #2 - Do the best (most scenic) 4-5 day hikes that are 20 miles, 3,500 feet of gain/loss or less...

I'm looking for an agenda (Mt. Baker area or other) that best fits the above goals...

Edited: 3:21 pm, October 15, 2013
western WA
Level Contributor
8,997 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: 2014 Trip Plans - Need Your Recommendations