We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2-day Smoky Mountains Trip

Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
25 posts
Save Topic
2-day Smoky Mountains Trip

I am planning a short trip to the GSMNP from Mar 16-17. It will be just me and my wife. We will stay two nights in a hotel in Townsend and plan to enter the park through Townsend side. We are initially flying from FL to TN and then rent a standard car.

Can you guys give some suggestions as to where to go and which routes to take? I am a mid-level landscape photographer so please consider that too. It might be a silly question but since I am taking a rental car do I have to carry extra gas can as I understand there are no gas stations wihtin the park? \

We are not planning to camp there. Our plan is to visit the park whole Saturday, return to hotel on Saturdya night, go back to park on Sunday and return to FL on Sunday night.

TIA.

Townsend, Tennessee
Destination Expert
for Townsend, Great Smoky Mountains National Park
Level Contributor
967 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 2-day Smoky Mountains Trip