We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camping weekend of June 20th

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
246 posts
Save Topic
Camping weekend of June 20th

We are thinking of camping the weekend of June 20th, we have a friend who will have a VW Westy, but my wife, myself and daughter will be in a tent. I took a look at the campground in the park, and while the text says it opens mid June, the reservation calendar does not show any openings till the 1st of July. I have tried calling Xanterra a couple times and get tired of sitting on hold for 15+min.

Are there any campgrounds you would suggest near the North Entrance, what about the South Entrance in case the North is not yet open? I have looked at Xanterras list, but looking more for personal reviews and recomendations. I am a photographer, so I like the Diamond Lake area as I can get morning and evening photos without making my entire party get up early to make it the CL.

Troutdale, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Hood River, Troutdale, Cascade Locks, The Dalles, Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11,474 posts
129 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Camping weekend of June 20th

I shouldn't smile but I have thought that myself and I live here.

It makes sense that Crater Lake would be covered in snow and really cold. I wouldn't attempt to camp there then. You could camp nearby though and it wouldn't be as cold.

Best,

MrsO

Oregon Coast
Destination Expert
for Crescent City, Oregon Coast, Oregon, Redwood National Park
Level Contributor
42,729 posts
1,024 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Camping weekend of June 20th

We have stayed at Diamond Lake RV Park in our RV, but I just checked their website and they do not allow tents. There is a Forest Service campground right on Diamond Lake. We drove through once and the mosquitos were fierce. Here it is: