We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travel Insurance Direct

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Travel Insurance Direct

Hi. Has anyone used TID for insurance. They just gave me a really good quote for EBC. Any good or bad expereinces information will help other travellers decide. Thanks in advance

19 replies to this topic
France
Destination Expert
for Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, Bhaktapur, Kathmandu, Jomsom, Mustang Region, Namche Bazaar, Sagarmatha National Park, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
3,450 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Travel Insurance Direct

I have used World Nomads few times for trekking in Nepal. They are the best that I am aware of and recommended by trekkers. I have no experience with TID, please check World Nomads for some ideas!

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Travel Insurance Direct

Thanks Rhythm.Will check out world Nomads

Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
436 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Travel Insurance Direct

IHI-Bupa also do a good travel insurance policy at reasonable rates which covers virtually all adventure activities including trekking (up to 6000mtrs)

Denmark
Level Contributor
1,609 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Travel Insurance Direct

Another vote for IHI-Bupa.

Be aware that insurrance isn't only about the price...it doesn't help much that they are cheap, if they wont do their job, if you need them.

So google and check out if they have a good reputation also.

Melbourne, Australia
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Travel Insurance Direct

Don't use it...

My trip to Fiji and of January has been cancelled due to a Fiji Cyclone.

No hope for credit..no hope for refund...

Total lack of consideration...

Passed cooling period.. wow..