We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Celebrating birthday w/ trip to Catalina. Never been.

Victorville, Ca.
13 posts
Save Topic
Celebrating birthday w/ trip to Catalina. Never been.

Hello, Newbie here. Hope I'm not asking too many questions but here goes!!

Won a free round trip to Catalina.I've never been before, sounds like it could be fun!

Probably will just stay one night on a mid-summer Saturday.

1.The resv. site is asking which harbor I want to arrive at: Two Harbors, or Avalon? Does it matter?

2.Any suggestions on which hotel to stay at?

3. I may have a guest with me, but I might not. Maybe a suggestion on what to do/where to go for a single unmarried male traveler? Not like hanging w/ other singles, just maybe activities that doesn't require a significant other to enjoy...

4.Things to do: I'm somewhat middleaged, (but not dead, lol) so R&R is generally what I'm looking for but would love to do something different & fun in the short time I'll be there.

Hope that's not too much to ask...ANY suggestions would be fantastic!!

Thanks, in advance!

Corey

Victorville, Ca.
13 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Celebrating birthday w/ trip to Catalina. Never been.

UPDATE: Turns out no hotel will let me stay less than 2 nights. So it looks like I'll just be staying for the day.

I have the same ?'s as above, but there will be no hotel stay.

Thanks for any advice!

Corey

Manhattan Beach...
Destination Expert
for Los Angeles, Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
19,266 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Celebrating birthday w/ trip to Catalina. Never been.

You want Avalon for a first time visit. It's there where there is most to do for a day.

You can take the Catalina Express out of Long Beach or San Pedro, they are both about the same if you drive in from Victorville.