We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Year in Europe: Need Help w/ Visa

Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 posts
51 reviews
Save Topic
A Year in Europe: Need Help w/ Visa

We are USA citizens.

My husband and I want to go to Europe for a year beginning in May 2015.

Our current plan is to spend 2 months each in France, Spain, Switzerland, Italy and Germany.

As it stands, it looks like we could be having problems with obtaining a visa for that length of time.

I work as a writer, and was wondering if this will influence the visa process?

Can I get a working visa?

Help!

Toronto, Canada
Destination Expert
for Family Travel, Honeymoons and Romance
Level Contributor
28,496 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: A Year in Europe: Need Help w/ Visa

Hi Bridget63...........................................you are best to check with a proper agency with regard to obtaining a work permit for a country in Europe...............TripAdvisor is a travel site only....personally I would not rely on the word of a stranger I met on the internet to give me legal advice.........I've never worked overseas, so can't tell you who the proper authority is that you should check with, but I'm sure starting with a Google search will turn up some information which will guide you to the proper authorities..............good luck with your plans........

Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: A Year in Europe: Need Help w/ Visa

Thank-you Eden 7.

I agree with your advice, however what I'm looking for is a starting point.

I've googled excessively and have no idea where "the proper authority" is.

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28,058 posts
59 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: A Year in Europe: Need Help w/ Visa