We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amtrak fares

London
Level Contributor
72 posts
40 reviews
Save Topic
Amtrak fares

Hi everyone.

I know that Amtrak fares are revenue managed, with the idea being the further in advance you book the cheaper the fare will be.

However I am looking at dates over 8 months time and the variation is startling. Yesterday, the fare was $122 with a roomette at $219. Today, the same route is $160 with a roomette at $302.

I used to work in the travel business so know about fare buckets etc. but was wondering if my own repeated searches is affecting the price as I haven't seen such changes so far in advance.

Bucks County...
Destination Expert
for Philadelphia, Train Travel, Bucks County
Level Contributor
8,604 posts
94 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Amtrak fares

My guess is that you are looking at fares for the California Zephyr or the Coast Starlight. They sell quickly and far in advance. I don't think AMTRAK's site is sophisticated enough to base fares on searches, only on real bookings. The train is probably just filling up.

Chicago, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
14,946 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Amtrak fares

8 months? Are you looking for late November? That's our Thanksgiving holiday and the trains sell out in advance. Especially those routes that serve college towns. September is a low price month to travel- family summer vacation are over and the holidays haven't begun. In fact, the rates you're quoting are low. Amtrak may also be anticipating higher prices with government subsidy cuts looming. If you have the luxury, move your travel dates back and forth a few days. The price may be different a week sooner or later.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8,130 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Amtrak fares