We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Trip/Barge Cruises - Europe

chargirl
6 posts
1 review
Save Topic
River Trip/Barge Cruises - Europe

I am really interested in learning more about Barge & River Cruises. I like the idea of a small ship (hate cruising on the large ships because of the huge number of peeps). I am a single professional business woman and love the thought of exploring the European water ways. I would like to do this either Spring or Fall.

Question: Any suggestions regarding the various river trips or barge trips? What is the typical age group?

London, England
Destination Expert
for Solo Travel
Level Contributor
9,640 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: River Trip/Barge Cruises - Europe

Welcome to the Solo Travel Forum!

There may be people who frequent this forum who have done what you want to do, but you might also try posting this on the TA sister site, Cruise Critic.

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/ Like TA, it is free to join.

They have a section for River Cruising that looks fairly lively. I found CC very helpful when I took the QM2 to cross the Atlantic. I chose my cabin and dinner seating on their advice and the choices made all the difference.

Cruise Critic also has a Roll Call section where people signed up for a particular cruise can chat on line and "meet" people before the departure.

Often there also is a "meet up" of roll call members on the 2nd night of the trip, but I don't know if that applies to river cruises.

I once met a fascinating woman in her 40s in Washington DC who had taken a European river cruise and loved it. If the other passengers are like her, you would have a great time.