We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tired of traveling - travel burnout :(

Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 posts
1 review
Tired of traveling - travel burnout :(

Hi. Don't know if this is the right forum, but here it goes:

I've been traveling solo around South east Asia for 2 1/2 months now. For the last couple of weeks, I just been so tired of traveling and moving around. I have no energy or even want to meet new people, cause I know that the friendship is gonna be a short one anyway.. I gotten cynical with time I think, because I found it really hard to meet great people you start to really care about but at one point you're gonna have to say goodbye... I guess it's becoming a way of protecting myself, cause I have a hard time of letting go. I'm like a robot who just gets up and spend the day doing nothing but lying at the beach. At night I can't be bothered going out for dinner with people, I actually prefer just staying in and watching Netflix . I really miss having a friend where you can just sit and be quiet and where you don't have to be 'on it' if you know what I mean? It's not that I haven't had that in my travels but I travelled to a new country 2 weeks ago and now I'm just full of meeting new people. Nor do I get excited about new places anymore. My ticket home is in 11 days so that's good. But all I wanted to know, is if someone has felt the same way? Cause I feel "wrong" in some way - I see travelers who's out and about every day and drinking every night and I feel like that's what I should be doing, but I just don't have the energy.. I feel like I'm traveling in the wrong way, especially cause I haven't been drinking that much(I had two crazy nights where the alcohol completely messed me up, so a bit scared to be drinking again), but it seems like drinking alcohol is the mai