We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Enough time to make the flight? San Fran Airport

Whistler, Canada
4 posts
Save Topic
Enough time to make the flight? San Fran Airport

I am traveling to Aspen Piktin Airport from Vancouver Airport on January 22nd, I fly through San Francisco. My layover time is around 1 hour 30 minutes, when booking this flight through United it said that the first flight into San Fran, is often delayed by 30 minutes +. Leaving me with around an hour of transfer time or less.

How easy is it to transfer onto a second flight? If I land in Terminal 1 and need to get to Terminal 3 how long will this take? Do I need to go through security again once entering San Fran airport?

I booked a non cancellation flight so therefore do not have much choice when it comes to canceling.

I am a newbie to San Fran airport so I appreciate the help :)

Thank you!

Paris, France
Level Contributor
16,888 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Enough time to make the flight? San Fran Airport

You should have plenty of time. Are you flying on one ticket?

Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
29,589 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Enough time to make the flight? San Fran Airport

If you're flying Air Canada they currently don't have a "home terminal" so you may arrive at International-A, INTL-G, or Terminal 1.

The only case where you'd need to reclear security is if you arrive at INTL-A. If you land at INTL-G there's an air side walkway to T3 (you may have to hurry because it could be a 15 min walk to your gate). If you arrive at T1, follow the signs to the United Express gates, and then use their inter-terminal bus to take you to T3. Again you may have to hurry when you reach T3 but that bus will eliminate having to reclear security.

Good luck.

Whistler, Canada