We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

renewing a passport

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
2,018 posts
45 reviews
Save Topic
renewing a passport

Looking at booking another lanzarote holiday for next October, want to take my grandparents. My grandad's passport runs out in may but will qualify for a free one after his birthday on 4th October, as he turns 80, I believe.

our holiday dates are pretty fixed as im a teacher, booking during our fortnight's October break, which is generally a matter of days after 4th Oct. This year the holidays actually started 4th and we flew out on 10th.

My question is, can he apply for his free passport before his birthday? Applying for a new one after his birthday won't give us enough time! Any advice gratefully recieved :-)

Worthing, United...
Level Contributor
8,073 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: renewing a passport

I think you might find this perk may have disappeared along with so many other benefits for the elderly. Do a dummy renewal and see what year you have to be born before, I have a feeling it's 1926

Jackie

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
2,018 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: renewing a passport

Really, Jackie? I looked into this just recently for him! :-(

Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
18,842 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: renewing a passport

As far as I'm aware he can get a free passport only if he was born before 2 September 1929 - the scheme does not give a free passport on reaching 80 years of age.

https://www.gov.uk/free-passport

…answers.com/Q/Does_the_British_Passport_ren…

Lancashire, United...
Destination Expert
for Playa Blanca
Level Contributor
33,188 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: renewing a passport