We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Direct/3rd party differences in ticket prices

Plaisance-du-Touch...
Level Contributor
150 posts
20 reviews
Save Topic
Direct/3rd party differences in ticket prices

Hi,

We're planning a holiday in the States in July next year and I'm browsing for tickets but I'm a novice at finding my way through the pricing jungle.

On the TripAdvisor flight forum, tickets are only available to the end of May at present (through third parties such as ebookers) but are cheaper than the same tickets booked directly from the airline (e.g. Lufthansa) for the same dates.

However, Lufthansa is already selling tickets through to July.

Does this mean that my best policy is to wait until ebookers and similar sites start selling tickets for July? Am I sure of a better price than buying direct?

Thanks very much

Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
37,532 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Direct/3rd party differences in ticket prices

Booking direct with the airline will likely cause you less risks of problems.

UK
Level Contributor
49,561 posts
92 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Direct/3rd party differences in ticket prices

On the TripAdvisor flight forum, tickets are only available to the end of May at present>>

There are some adverts on these pages. There may be, via those adverts, some tickets advertised for sale, but you most certainly cannot trust that because a third party ADVERTISES a cheaper ticket than is shown on an airline website, that price is actually AVAILABLE.

Its not just about price. As many have discovered to their cost when they just picked the APPARENTLY cheapest. try this thread as an example of possible issues with third parties tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g1-i10702-k57861…