We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RwandAir Ticket Purchasing

Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 posts
214 reviews
Save Topic
RwandAir Ticket Purchasing

Hello,

I'm a college student and I'm in the process of buying tickets from Dubai to Kenya for a spring break visit. RwandAir was by far the cheapest, so today I set out to buy tickets.

I don't have a credit card, only a debit card. My payment was declined, presumably because I'm paying with a debit card. The customer service rep was largely unhelpful during my 10 minutes on the phone with her, and I'd prefer to not pay to make another international call from the UAE to Rwanda.

The only way around this I can think of is to use a relative's credit card and then pay them back; however, RwandAir's website says that if you buy with a credit card, then you need to physically present that credit card at the airport. I obviously won't have the relative's card in my possession.

Does anyone know how I should go about buying tickets?

Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
21,142 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: RwandAir Ticket Purchasing

Most airlines can sometimes ask for the credit card used to purchase tickets to be presented at check in - they don't do it all the time but if they do it and you are unable to produce the card you might be denied boarding.

Might be better to contact the airline direct rather than take that risk.

http://www.rwandair.com/about/contact-us.html

Kigali
1 post
Save Reply
2. Re: RwandAir Ticket Purchasing

The airline requires the following if the card used for payment doesn't belong to the passenger;