We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Checking a bag on return?

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
6 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
Checking a bag on return?

Hi folks,

I'm planning a trip to Thailand for a couple of weeks in June, it's my first time there and my first time travelling alone, can't wait!

My question is however, I plan to carry all my belongings as hand luggage to save checking a bag. I was wondering if I could do this on the outbound journey but then by a small case whilst there to check in on the return for souvenirs etc. Basically bringing back more than I took out.

I've got a backpack that fits the hand luggage dimension allowances and I know I can fit all my stuff in it but there will not be enough room for anything else.

Any help would be appreciated!

Scotland
Level Contributor
1,332 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Checking a bag on return?

No reason why not as long as you are within your airline's baggage allowances.

Be aware that customs can access the records to see how much baggage you checked on the way out - bringing a lot more back may raise a flag. In reality, however, this is a fairly small risk I'd have thought - plenty of people go cheap shopping in the States, for example.

Atlanta, Georgia
Destination Expert
for Atlanta
Level Contributor
11,211 posts
96 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Checking a bag on return?

I do this all the time. No worries.

Poulton Le Fylde...
Destination Expert
for Khao Lak, Khao Sok National Park
Level Contributor
38,828 posts
95 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Checking a bag on return?

What are you saving by not checking in a bag on the outward leg? It's free and unless you are in a terrific hurry when you arrive in Thailand it won't save you