We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

just trying to make an informed decision...

Raleigh
3 posts
Save Topic
just trying to make an informed decision...

I'm new to this online traveling thing and I saw this ad about a company that offered a very good deal to Honolulu...I just wanted to see if anybody has heard about this company before http://www.meliatravel.com/ (sorry for the text I don't know how to post links) if so would you recommend doing business with them or should I go another route...

Also since I am new and don't want to depend on others, could anyone give me some tips as to what to look for in travel sites...there are just sooooo many and based on what I've read so far in the forums there are soo many factors to consider.

Your help is really appreciated...

Isle of Man, United...
Level Contributor
37,001 posts
340 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: just trying to make an informed decision...

1. Read ALL the small print before you start.

2. If it seems to good to be true it most likely is.

3. Remember somebody out there is trying to sell you something. Check it is what you really want. a plane ticket NOT a promise to find one for you.

4. when you have done all that, read the small print again. Surprising how easy it is to miss bits.

5. Now start to buy the ticket for the flight you want. proceed very carefully and uncheck any prefilled boxes that you do not want such as "Free" anything or Insurance. You want a ticket from A-B.

6. Read everything slowly and carefully. do not hesitate to click out if unsure and start again.

7. ONLY when you are absolutely sure that you are buying what you think you are buying, start to fill in personal details and CHECK how you spell your name. It must match your ID or Passport.

8. reread the whole lot before adding your Credit Card details.