We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Student Planning School Trip

Tennesee
7 posts
Save Topic
Student Planning School Trip

I am a high school student from semi-rural Tennessee, and I am taking a trip this June along with two others, (from the 22-30) to go to FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) National Convention in Anaheim, Ca. I have been searching for flights out of Knoxville (TYS), but the average price from most of the air travel sites is about 350USD before tax. Does anyone have any advice on buying tickets? I am flying in and out on a Tuesday to save money,and one of my only limitations realy are that leave a day before or after the 22 of june, and I must fly out of Knoxville(TYS) or Chattanooga (CHA) When is the best time to buy right now, especially with the economy on the decline, and what about bidding on tickets? Is it advised, does it really save that much? Could I get some sort of student discount?

New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
9,273 posts
49 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Student Planning School Trip

$350 sounds like a steal. Buy now. Do not pass Go. Do not collect $200.

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13,915 posts
62 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Student Planning School Trip

Check out STA Travel - that group gives student discounts. Flying into S. California you have several alternate airports/great flexibility in getting a good fare. The closest airport to Anaheim is Orange County/SNA, but you could also use LAX, LGB, BUR and ONT (all just within 1.5 hours of your destination).

I would also check airfarewatchdog.com - see if you can find listings for both TYS and CHA. Good Luck. If all looks too expensive, also check out flights from Atlanta - this huge airport often has the best deals in your area (it has the most flights).