We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airlines-Lost Luggage

Grand Rapids...
Level Contributor
2 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Airlines-Lost Luggage

Match this for the worst Lost-Luggage Story.

I’ve been a professional photographer who, over the years, has had the opportunity to work on a great number of international assignments for magazines, corporations, agencies and a vast number of my own personal projects. My wife Sue and I (Sue works as my photo-assistant) were on our way to Europe and Africa to spend several months photographing Perugia, Italy; Bielsko-Biala, Poland; and Ga District of Ghana. The photography would be used to decorate a new JW Marriott being built in Grand Rapids, Michigan, requiring nearly 1,500 custom-printed, signed and framed photographs for 23 floors of guest rooms, suites, a lounge, 21 elevator landing and a large gallery.

We travel with a tremendous amount of camera gear, computer equipment, gifts for all the hosts and helpers, general supplies that we need for two months on the road, not to mention summer clothes for three weeks of shooting in Italy, clothes warm enough for three weeks in Poland in October and really light clothes for the African tropics. We needed a home base where we could fly in from the U.S. and store half of the bags and more than half of the paraphernalia we were carrying that we didn’t need at the other destinations. Oh how I long for the days when we traveled with one backpack each.