We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help with first time intercontinental flight

Schalkhaar, The...
6 posts
Save Topic
Help with first time intercontinental flight

Ok so 22 december I will be flying from Amsterdam to Melbourne, with 2 stops in China (Chengdu and Guangzhou). As this is my first time flying outside of Europe, with a number of stops in China, I am uncertain about a number of issues:

1. Will my bagage be labelled to Melbourne, or will I have to pick it up in China and re-check my bagage? If so, how does this work? Will I need to go through customs again after picking and checking in my bagage in China? And will I be able to do this within 2 hours, because my connecting flight leaves 2 hours after my flight is schedules to arrive.

2. How does the 24h TWOV work in China? Cause if I will be out of China within 24h, it says I don't need a visa. Does that mean that I don't even have to apply for one at the airport at the moment of arrival?

I'd love to hear your feedback, cause I am new to solo air travel is this is all quite intriguing.

8 replies to this topic
London, United...
Level Contributor
10,538 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help with first time intercontinental flight

Which airline(s) are you flying with and did you book via the airline or a third party? Is it booked as one booking reference or more?

Schalkhaar, The...
6 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Help with first time intercontinental flight

I am flying with China Southern Airlines, although the first leg (Amsterdam-Chengdu) is operated by KLM. All flights are booked as one booking reference and I booked it via a third party.

Level Contributor
169 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Help with first time intercontinental flight

I find it quite intriguing as well.

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
689 posts
Save Reply