We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Farrier

main street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
+44 17687 79688
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
main street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband is in a wheelchair and the pub was easy for him to access. The staff were very helpful getting our table ready us to make getting his wheelchair under the table easy. We have a dog and he could accompany us getting free...More

Thank Christine D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived to find our table reserved next to the bar. Tables tightly packed together and people coming in from car park and difficulty getting past our table. We weren't show the specials menu and didn't know it existed until it was time to order sweets....More

Thank luv_to_travel_more
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

We've eaten here several times and always enjoyed the ambience and super friendly super helpful staff. We were disappointed with our most recent visit however. We arrived on a Sunday evening which had been exceptionally busy and they had run out of roasts. But fair...More

Thank Jgilro
Reviewed April 11, 2017

We were a party of 7 of different ages with something to please everyone. Service very friendly and efficient. Menu choices good and food served very well. We all enjoyed the salad served with mains and starters, delicious dressings.

Thank FrancesF703
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Popped in everyday whilst staying locally and ate twice. Great atmosphere and great food but both overshadowed by the amazing staff.

Thank Mark C
Reviewed April 1, 2017

I have stayed and eaten here at least 30 times over the last 7 years, through several different sets of management, and though like anywhere there are a few petty annoyances, this place is a great traditional lake district inn and somewhat feels like a...More

Thank Robert L
Reviewed March 29, 2017

Visited at lunchtime on Mothering Sunday, when fairly busy but was advised it is as busy as this every Sunday. Long wait for drinks, arriving with food, which was disappointing as it is nice to have a 10/15 minute drink before food. My mum's burger...More

Thank jimbY3542NB
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Room was Superior but very small and bathroom had mould. Toilet seat in disrepair unsightly. Had to request a dried blood stain to be removed from room wall. Booked a meal which was very disappointing inedible,large solid lump found in the ale pie which definitely...More

Thank Kawasaki68
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Booked the Horse and Farrier for a meal on the 5th March to celebrate my 50th birthday with my wife and parents. We've been here many times and always had a fantastic meal which is the reason I booked it. What a disappointment it turned...More

Thank mboy67
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Popped in for lunch after a lovely walk from Keswick. Food was outstanding and the staff were welcoming and friendly have eaten here before and was not disappointed on either occasion can highly recommend.

Thank Gary C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Threlkeld Coffee Shop
139 reviews
.16 miles away
White Horse Inn
181 reviews
1.59 miles away
Horse & Farrier Inn
407 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castlerigg
91 reviews
2.22 miles away
Keswick Adventures
102 reviews
3.20 miles away
Derwentwater
2,014 reviews
3.63 miles away
Castlerigg Stone Circle
846 reviews
2.23 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
scowy68
How far is it from Keswick is it walking distance after a night out if not any idea how much a taxi would cost at the weekend?
February 22, 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Jonathan R | Reviewed this property |
Wouldn't walk it after dark, great walk in the summer months takes me just under an hour. Taxis varies on time. I can get a taxi to Keswick at 7pm for around £10 and that was a 6 seater. But then at 1-2am it's about £13-15.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: main street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick  >  Threlkeld
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 79688
  • E-mail