We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fishmongers Bondi Beach

Seafood, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
42 Hall St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia (Formerly Mongers)
61293652205
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Fishmongers after the recommendation of a family member who raved about it...and now I rave about it! I don't remember being so impressed with a simple 'fish and chips' concept before. I had the salmon steak with brown rice and it was delicious. The prawn dish that a relative of mine had also looked and tasted delicious. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sito_Journey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We found a good variety of seafood dishes, plus tempura vegetables and wedges. The service was exceptional, including extra help with addressing issues with allergies.

Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Fish and seafood is nice but the owners/managers attitude to customers leaves a lot to be desired. Eaten there at least 6 times

Helpful?
Thank Philimo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Fish and Chips. Presented nicely with a salad, fresh ginger, and some sweet potato crisps with chips on the side. The batter was tasty and not overly cooked. Nice chat with the owner who helped us with directions. It didn't hurt that the music in the background was Earth Wind and Fire

Helpful?
Thank David M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We went for a dinner around 8PM and it was a pretty bad experience - Food is very expensive and pretty plain. We were served in bulky takeaway containers that were paper and made the fish and veggies sweat and loose their crunch...Suppose they just didn't want to do dishes for us? I was unimpressed - much better options around!

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor N
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Beaches and fish n; chips,well there is one excellent new one in Hall st, Fishmoongers. I had grilled fish probably Hoki and salad. It came out quickly and I was pleasantly surprised at the dressing vinegerete, with a twist of lemon, and abar of corn cob on top, well presented and delicious. Would recommend it to travellers,easy step from beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank amandav1717
Claire S, Owner at Fishmongers Bondi Beach, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - it's always great to get feedback and the photo's are really good too especially of our new picture of the great Bondi Pavilion. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Not the worst fish and chips, but not the best. 15 AUD for a rather small bit of fish and many fries. Wouldn't go out of my way to eat there.

Helpful?
Thank Sam J
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We shared the bucket for two .......it might have been that it was late but the service wasn't great . Food was ok but the fries weren't great.

Helpful?
Thank Batmanchester
Pokolbin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

Shocking shocking shocking. Food slapdash Old chips, burnt fish . Waste of money. Criminal what used to be a great home style meal has gone belly up :( Never eating there again.

Helpful?
Thank Barrabrui
Claire S, Owner at Fishmongers Bondi Beach, responded to this review

Hi There, I am so disappointed to read the review you have put about Fishmongers Bondi. You have obviously been here before and know what we are like and I can assure you we have not gone belly up. I would really appreciate If you could let me know the date and time you came in and the food you... More 

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

Came here twice--the second time just because I loved the calamari. The chips are great, but skip the fried fish. It's BYOB, so head over to Toohey's down the road and get yourself a bottle!

Helpful?
Thank Neghar

Travelers who viewed Fishmongers Bondi Beach also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Fishmongers Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Seafood, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Hall St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia (Formerly Mongers)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Bondi
  • Phone Number: 61293652205

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fishmongers Bondi Beach staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?