We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Head Inn

The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
+44 1642 722318
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good20%
  • Average18%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible15%
2 days ago
“Slow, slow service”
1 week ago
“Disappointing”
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The food was quite good, but the wait was unacceptable. We had pre-booked several days in advance, but still had to sit around for 45 minutes.

Thank v50driver
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with a group and had pre booked our menu choices, however we still had to wait for 45 minutes after arriving at the pub on time (slightly early really). The veggie burger was described as tasty, the fish was nice but the other dishes...More

Thank MarDee5922
Management response:

Hi MarDee5922 Thanks for your review, and sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please get in touch via our email address to discuss further if you wish. info@kingsheadinn.co.uk Many thanks :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyable meal. Food was great. Wine was very reasonable. Very pleasant staff. Very dog friendly. Stanley was offered water and biscuits without a prompt. Very good value and a very pleasant environment! No room for pudding! Next time and very soon!

1  Thank Geoff P
Management response:

Hi Geoff P, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return to tackle one of our delicious puds!! :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seems a shame that although there are signs advertising 2 for 1 parmesan Monday that the staff are happy to charge full price for them on a Monday and when you see the signs after paying they say it's too late for them to do...More

Thank Fiona M
Management response:

Hi Fiona M, Thanks for your review. Sorry if our offer was confusing in any way. We have the offer advertised around the pub and on our website which requires you to print out a voucher, complete your details and present it to your server...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the kings head with family yesterday we were a table of 7. From start to finish was a lovely place. Very friendly chatty staff, great home cooked fresh food. The bar and restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and great surroundings with lovely views...More

1  Thank mrssmcgee
Management response:

Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a walk in the bluebell woods called in for bite to eat. My wife and I ordered a sandwich each which came with coleslaw and chips. Including drinks the bill came to just over£20. The place was quiet so he food arrived fairly quickly...More

1  Thank redscarfox
Management response:

Thanks for your review redscarfox, We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a great walk up Roseberry Topping we called in for lunch. Great menu choices, my wife chose King Club Sandwich and I chose Steak and Ale pie. Both meals were well prepared, good quantities and tasty. My pie was PROPER pie, it had a...More

1  Thank Bren S
Management response:

Hi Bren S Thanks for your review and for noticing our pie!!! We are very proud of this fact! See you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early, 11:30am for Pre Lunch drinks, only a few tables filled and a couple of well behaved dogs. Over the next 30 mins, more dogs than people came in. Wet smelly dogs, muddy dogs and poorly behaved dogs that for us means my...More

1  Thank RogerSomerville
Management response:

Hi Roger, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you are allergic to wet, smelly, muddy dogs. We are a pet friendly establishment and have it clearly sign posted at the entrances to the pub, dogs are in fact only allowed in the hard floored...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We rang ahead and booked a table for 1pm. On arrival the inn is in a stunning location for the view of roseberry topping. Plenty spaces to park. They also let dogs in which was good for us. That's the good points. Bad points. We...More

2  Thank stu&jess
Management response:

Hi, Thanks for your review, and sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. We were in fact very busy which of course causes inevitable wait times, in fact we served over 300 lunches yesterday afternoon, so not sure you have been entirely correct...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Daughter and son in law took me for a birthday meal, I have dined all over the country and abroad, but wow would have to be something very very exceptionally special to beat this place. Beautiful venue, lovely feeling to the place, the food was...More

1  Thank sheelagh1956
Management response:

Thanks Sheelagh1956!! What a lovely review, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. See you again soon :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fletchers Farm Coffee Shop
154 reviews
1.61 miles away
Southern Cross
91 reviews
3.09 miles away
Joplins Restaurant
136 reviews
1.60 miles away
Number 5 Coffee House
136 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Roseberry Topping
460 reviews
.57 miles away
Captain Cook Schoolroom Museum
35 reviews
1.54 miles away
My Serenity
107 reviews
3.13 miles away
Stewart Park
305 reviews
3.93 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kris588
Can our dog go inside with us ?
January 1, 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from May-Maria2015 | Reviewed this property |
Yes very dog friendly
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
7:30 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Great Ayton
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 722318
Description
Recently refurbished and sitting beneath the iconic Roseberry Topping – Cleveland’s ‘Matterhorn of the North’ – this charming inn with bedrooms is wrapped around by the North York Moors National Park, the Cleveland Way and is close to Yorkshire’s seaside gems of Staithes, Whitby and Scarborough, The King’s Head Inn is just a short drive from Redcar, Middlesbrough and the Tees Valley, too.

If you’re looking for bedrooms in North Yorkshire then The King’s Head Inn offers bed and breakfast accommodation that’s more characterful and a great alternative to traditional hotel stays and more service than simply self-catering.

A popular spot for walkers and cyclists, you don’t have to have scaled the ‘Topping’ to deserve a well-earned glass of Yorkshire’s finest and the chance to enjoy The King’s Head Inn’s superb home-cooked food.