We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Whinstone View Bistro

$$ - $$$
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
B1292, Great Ayton TS9 6QG, England
+44 1642 723285
Today
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 281: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Well seems to be my home for the last 3-4 months and why not . Great venue , great setting , good food and fantastic staff . Went for a friends birthday party in January last year and had a great time , sadly I let her down later that night and never forgave myself . But the facilities are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to the New Year's Eve party as party of 8 and have nothing but praise to all the staff that organised it. from start to finish we had an amazing time. The table was set out gorgeous, the food was perfect,loved the quirky setting it was being served in even the bar was very reasonably priced. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank PARMO
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whinstone Bistro sits in a lovely environment of smart holiday log cabins. Sadly the Bistro doesn't live up to it's location. The menu was far too varied to convey quality - they should reduce it and serve better quality and less items. There were lazy short cuts - the spaghetti was tagliatelle and the lamb was served with shop bought... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary here on New Year's Eve with friends. Excellent night, only a couple of negatives, the music while we were eating was much too loud for us to hold a conversation, I'm sure this could have been turned down until the disco started! And we were crammed in like sardines! Apart from that it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 554jules
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a nice place to visit but they need to be more specific on detail in the menu. Ordered Cod with detail as being herb crusted, no mention of type of herb and was that sweet it spoiled the taste of Cod. Waitress staff could not explain what the sweetness was. Think Waitress staff could do with menu training. Rest... More 

Helpful?
Thank JazzBoro
Redcar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here 3 weeks before Christmas for a family meal to take place in between xmas and new year, when we booked it for the Xmas Fare and payed our deposit, we phoned up the day before to confirm our arrival. When we got to the bistro we were told that the Xmas Fare wasn't available as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Wrays Barn for our Christmas Party night on Friday 16th Dec. The venue looked pretty enough decked in fairy lights but the food was a total disappointment. Soup was served in tin camping cups, although quirky the soup was absolutely scorching hot and stayed tasteless after several applications of salt & pepper. Unfortunately I left most of this as... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanDareNYorkshire
Whinstone View L, General Manager at Whinstone View Bistro, responded to this review

Hi DanDareNYorkshire, Thank you for taking the time to review Whinstone View. I'm sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. I am however surprised to read your comments as I have had nothing but excellent feed back from all of our Party Nights. A lot of time and effort has gone into these nights, and we have a... More 

Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Another visit to this establishment, not my choice, and was, again, disappointed by the quality of food. Meats and fish overcooked, school meal presentation and a mix of vegetables- some over and some undercooked. The staff are friendly enough but that does not really compensate for the uninspiring food.

Helpful?
Thank OttoThiel
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2016

First visit and certainly won't be the last . Friendly welcome from the staff and a lovely atmosphere. . The menu has some great choices and our food was delicious . Our vino was also tip top and everything was reasonably priced .

Helpful?
Thank 405william123
North Yorks
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2016

Have dined here several times and never been disappointed. The setting is really nice and the bistro is charming which contributes to the relaxed feel of the place. The menu is varied with plenty of choice. The "early bird" dinner menu is particularly good value and changes with the season. The traditional Sunday lunch is excellent. Coupled with helpful friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthYorksNitpicker

Travelers who viewed Whinstone View Bistro also viewed

Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Stokesley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Whinstone View Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: B1292, Great Ayton TS9 6QG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Great Ayton
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 723285

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whinstone View Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?