We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Olive Terrace

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
+27 23 230 0071
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 350: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Consistently offers good food at a reasonable price. We like the outdoor terrace overlooking the street.

Helpful?
Thank ght1948
Tulbagh, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband treated my cousin and I to dinner at this beautiful historic venue The Olive Terrace at the Tulbagh Hotel. The food was excellent and was prepared using many locally grown vegetables etc with a nice selection of superb wines from local wine estates. Average pricing. The viewfrom the terrace was breathtaking as the sun set over the mountains.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margot S
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Margot many thanks for your kind review and your support. We very much appreciate the support we receive from local residents, and as you mention, we support local producers and fresh produce, cheese, wine and craft beers. Alasdair More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten there several times, always excellent food and service. Value for money! We always look forward to eating there!

Helpful?
Thank 607ralfh
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Raifh many thanks for taking the time to write your review. There is no greater accolade that a return guest, and we all look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Alasdair More 

Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Top of Trip Advisor in Tulbagh, we visited full of anticipation. You have to book & the restaurant was certainly busy. The service was good but the food not to our tastes. We ordered what we had before elsewhere but the result was disappointing. From our experiences, there are better options in Tulbagh, but at the end of the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bowring14
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Bowring thanks for your review, but without any detail I am sadly unable to comment. Regards Alasdair More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent the night in Tulbagh with our 3 year old son. Someone recommended we try the Tulbagh Hotel's restaurant for breakfast. We weren't disappointed! We sat in the beautiful courtyard at the back of the hotel. It was sunny and tranquil with a lovely water feature. My son had the granola with yoghurt and fresh fruit... More 

Helpful?
Thank MishRoy
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear MishRoy many thanks for your detailed review. We all work hard to try and ensure that what we offer exceeds the expectations of our guests. Our free range farm eggs come from de Heuvel, a local farm, and the smoked salmon is from Three Streams Smokehouse in Franschhoek. Hope to welcome you back soon Alasdair More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Tulbagh for 2 days and ate breakfast and dinner there every day. Wonderful service and food, Friendly and very helpful staff. Also affordable.Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank AilsaLe
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear AilsaLe many thanks for your kind review. We are fortunate to have strong support from our local clientele. So many of the farmers, and wine makers frequent the Olive Terrace, so we have a wide selection of local wines and craft beers, and support as many local suppliers as possible. Kind regards Alasdair More 

East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popular & busy - deserves to be. Choice of 3 areas to dine - front terrace, indoors or quiet, charming rear courtyard. We chose the latter as non-smoking. Delicious food (great chef), friendly & efficient service (especially Inesha) & good value. Breakfasts superb too.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

John many thanks for your generous review, and for your mention of our highly valued staff. They are the people who make it work, and ensure our valued guests are cosseted. We are grateful to have a large percentage of returning guests which speaks volumes. Alasdair More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Tulbach hotel. We had supper and breakfast at the restaurant. It was superb. The food was excellent and the wait staff friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was truly inspired and the supper was awesome. Definitely worth the visit and priced very well for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Elma H
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Elma many thanks for your review. We have an a la carte breakfast menu so we can keep it varied and interesting. Our valued chefs are encouraged to research and come up with ideas for new dishes, and our main menu also changes weekly. Best wishes Alasdair More 

New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reserved a table inside the restaurant to avoid the smokers you always have to put up with outside. Wrong this time as there was a very noisy large party inside and they monopolised the waiting staff. Long wait for food and drink. The food was average. The good part about it was that they did use local ingredients, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane I
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Jane many thanks for your review and comments. We have 2 outside areas, the front patio where smoking is permitted, and the beautiful courtyard which is an al fresco non smoking area. You chose to dine inside. The group of Chinese visitors, as is common, were vivacious. I apologise if they dominated the waiting staff, and we have spoken... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was tasty, well presented and great value for money. Variety was great and ingredients fresh. Excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Elsadlo
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Elsadlo many thanks for your kind review. We work hard to ensure our menu, is varied, caters for vegetarians and vegans, and features local fresh produce. Hope to welcome you back soon Alasdair More 

Travelers who viewed The Olive Terrace also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to The Olive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$3 - $10
Cuisine
African, Pizza, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Witzenberg Municipality  >  Tulbagh
  • Phone Number: +27 23 230 0071
Description
The Olive Terrace Bistro at the Tulbagh Hotel: open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. The a la carte menu is a celebration of South African flavours and locally sourced seasonal fruits and vegetables and we cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten free diets. All our dishes are prepared in our own kitchen. We also have a wood fired pizza oven. The restaurant supports many community initiatives, buying produce from the Tulbagh Community Garden and sponsoring young people through the City and Guilds Catering course.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Olive Terrace and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Noordwijk, The Netherlands

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Olive Terrace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?