We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
In heart of the community. This traditional ale house and unique Thai restaurant is the epitome of a great country pub. The lovely old building oozes charm and class, while attentive staff deliver a warm welcome, excellent real ales and superb Thai food.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
115
60
16
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
115
60
16
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food curry queens head lovely evening pub pint jasmine dogs takeaway
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 23, 2020 via mobile

Staff are very friendly, the lunch Thai menu and food are fantastic. Choose from a starter and main and meat type. Had a total of six dishes and all were amazing.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
A5014FElisaw, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2020

Thank you very much Dan, we love our lunch menu too! We look forward to your custom again soon.

Reviewed October 16, 2020

AMAZING food, Beautifully flavoured and cooked. Lovely service. So kind and friendly. Definitely would recommend. (:

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
A5014FElisaw, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2020

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We look forward to hosting you once again soon.

Reviewed August 30, 2020

We returned to live in Chesham earlier this month after 17 years away. The Queen’ s Head was always our favourite place to enjoy a quiet drink and we’re delighted to rediscover it! We just popped in for a quick drink on the way home...from a walk this afternoon and immediately felt at home: lovely relaxed vibe & friendly staff. We’ll be back and look forward to trying the Thai food soon. Thank you!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
timbW1782DQ, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2020

We're so pleased that you have come back to us after 17 years and even more pleased that you really enjoyed your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and definitely recommend you try some of the Thai food next time!

Reviewed August 29, 2020

The staff are so so friendly and the Thai food was amazing, had such a lovely evening and would definitely come back

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
timbW1782DQ, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2020

I'm so glad we exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed the food, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed August 24, 2020

I had crispy duck .. which if I’m honest the one from Sainsbury’s is much better. The the mixed starter platter .. again very average.. but a pint of peroni at £6:75 I thought was a bit expensive. Overall.. would I go back.. probably not.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
timbW1782DQ, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2020

Hi Richard M I'm very sorry to hear that you thought the food was average I have passed your comments on to our kitchen team, I can't speak for Sainsbury's crispy duck, but assure you the the duck and the starter platter are 2 of...More

Reviewed April 6, 2020

Myself and some friends treated ourselves to a Thai a few months ago here and absolutely loved the food! The service was a bit slow but that didn't ruin the meal.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?9  
A5014FElisaw, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2020

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal! All our Thai dishes are prepared from scratch by our expert chefs; this can occasionally lead to a minor delay during busy periods, however as you mentioned we too believe it to be worth the...More

Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

We love the Queens Head and frequently go there for a quick glass of wine or a pint with friends, family or on our own. The atmosphere is great - lots of people having a time and enjoying themselves. Dogs are warmly welcomed and there...welcoming fires in the winter. We have frequently eaten from the Thai menu which is usually delicious. My only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5 is that we have twice had lunch which was fairly awful - maybe the chef at lunchtime is different from the evening? Overall, a wonderful pub.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
timbW1782DQ, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Hi Paula, thank you for the nice review we're really pleased that you enjoy visiting the Queens Head, although it is disappointing to hear that that on a couple of occasions here the food hasn't been up to standard. There are indeed different chefs on...More

Reviewed December 30, 2019

I've eaten here three times this year and it's always been excellent. There's a lot of choice on the menu . Yesterday wasn't very hungry so just had the bacon and cheese melt panini for only £5.75 . It came with a garnish and some...chips so cant argue with that . Very good value . On another occasion had a Thai curry which is their specialty. They do know how to cook rice here. Fullers beer, well kept . This is just how a pub should be.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Megan W, Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Hi Robert thanks for visiting and giving us such a great review, we're really happy you enjoy the food and drink on offer here and look forward to welcoming you back again in 2020.

Reviewed December 23, 2019

We visited on Friday night, we hadn't thought to make a booking but even though they were busy with several large parties we were given a table straight away. Drinks come up from the bar so there is a huge choice to choose from! We...had the mixed starter platter (YUM) possibly the best prawn toast I've ever had! Mains were lovely, huge rice portion easily enough for 2! Too stuffed for pudding, but we'll be back to check those out! We overheard one of the other tables ask it there is a discount for cash - which there was! So we'll remember that for next time!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Megan W, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Hi B0NDY42, We're really pleased that you had a great time in the restaurant and that all the food was to your liking, we hope to welcome you back soon to try those puddings!

Reviewed December 16, 2019 via mobile

It’s been a little while since I last ate here... I’ve been back after the Jasmine Thai opened (who used to run the Thai here) but I’m guessing it’s changed hands again. The mixed starter was ok but the Thai fish cakes were just a...lump of greasy batter... not what I’m used to! However the fried rice was most disappointing... it was fried rice (slightly overcooked) but included thick slices of al dente carrots, large lumps of onion & cherry tomatoes. No peas, the meat was more shredded pork than the chopped meat I’m used to but the greatest affront was that this Thai restaurant doesn’t have any chilli oil! The server looked confused when I asked for some & checked with the chef & the main restaurant. I’ve never heard of a Thai restaurant without chilli oil. If I go again I’ll take my own, as I’d advise you to do...!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Megan W, General Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Emily, hopefully it won't be too long before you eat with us again. It is saddening that your meal fell below the standards that you expected and we can only apologise; we will be looking...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kings Arms Hotel
946 reviews
2.49 miles away
The Crown Inn
1,146 reviews
2.50 miles away
Chartridge Lodge
420 reviews
2.68 miles away
De Vere Latimer Estate
1,292 reviews
3.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Brazils Kitchen
207 reviews
.21 miles away
Filo Mediterranean Kitchen
132 reviews
.33 miles away
The Drawingroom
206 reviews
.24 miles away
Rumbles Pantry
72 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Elgiva Theatre
78 reviews
.43 miles away
The Drawingroom
37 reviews
.25 miles away
Mad Squirrel
46 reviews
.20 miles away
Chesham Museum
19 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
slosh0
February 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from Psy80250 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it has a small car park and also on-street parking outside the restaurant
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing