We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


134 Mount Warning Rd, Mount Warning, New South Wales 2484, Australia
+61 2 6679 5955
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good33%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lunch” (22 reviews)
“cake” (7 reviews)
“burger” (8 reviews)
Healthy, Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
134 Mount Warning Rd, Mount Warning, New South Wales 2484, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an amazing lunch sat outside on the banks of the flowing creek under the shade of trees on a very hot day. the menu was amazing so we opted for their signature seafood dishes of Barramundi, salad and chips, and char grilled prawns...More

Thank Celia M
Chez L, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Celia it was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed signature dishes it makes cooking on a hot day our pleasure when we hear back such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again 😊

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very extensive menu at the expected expensive prices but still feels the need to surcharge. $15 for a bowl of fries plus weekend surcharge. The place was packed. Milking it already with the prices, don't think surcharge is necessary and most likely not passing it...More

Thank Sally E
Chez L, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sally now that you have admitted by PM that you have made a mistake and this review was written for a restaurant close by and not us could you please remove. You have also published it on their Tripadvisor page as well so it's...More

Reviewed January 26, 2018

Had a lovely relaxing and leisurely lunch here sitting outdoors alongside the creek. We all chose the Barramundi which was cooked to perfection. With such good meals combined with reasonable prices I would highly recommend this restaurant.More

Thank Pat M
Chez L, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pat, glad you enjoyed your visit with us the out door area is the best place to sit with the sound of running water and birds in the trees. And we agree, our chef has perfected the cooking of the Barramundi thank you for...More

Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Had lunch at the cafe yesterday and the setting is lovely but if it wasn’t for the location the cafe would be floundering. We ordered the prawns with Asian salad and it was the better of the two meals. However, we also ordered the ploughman’s...More

4  Thank Vicki G
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

stayed at gymea yoga retreat as a group. beautiful surroundings, day spa was very good. the whole was well run and magnificent

Thank Nicole W
Chez L, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review but it is on the wrong page. I'm sure Gymea would appreciate this lovely review.

Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch after my walk. Sat by the creek and ate a delicious prawns. 10/10. Would come back! Maybe next time I'd eat a slice of cake. They all looked great!

Thank Rae S
Happydaz_10, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks sounds like you really enjoyed the whole 'bloody' lot 😁. And yes you really should try the cakes, they are amazing 👍

Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

Had lunch at one of my favorite cafes again. The setting as usual was fantastic and the food was good however, we paid $24.50 for the smallest piece of Barramundy I have ever seen. First time we came away disappointed.More

1  Thank Mumma B
Happydaz_10, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed this time over our fresh wild caught piece of Barramundi. Our fish is all weighed to 200gms and priced accordingly, sometimes it may appear smaller but usually means it's thicker. Glad we could please you on all other...More

Reviewed August 30, 2017

We sat by a bubbling brook in the winter sunshine, gazing across to a lush rainforest. Oh yes, and the food was excellent. We had the Burger and the Prawns and the noodle salad was outstanding! The food did take a surprisingly long time to...More

Thank Sikrats
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Thank you for yet another lovely eating experience, we were 6 local ladies who get together at various local venues as we have or have had B n B's in the area and have had very good experiences at the Rainforest Cafe so we have...More

Thank tropicalcoast2487
Happydaz_10, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Thank you so much Veronica for a wonderful rave review. It's is our most absolute pleasure to to serve good food and I simply love making making cakes especially something a little different that has brought so much joy for you and others. And thank...More

Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

had lunch here after our huge walk up mt warning. very yummy lunch... had the thai chicken curry. relaxing outdoor atmosphere near the rocky creek with comfortable and clean seats. service friendly and a huge selection of food to cater for all needs. was hard...More

Thank Nicole W
Happydaz_10, Owner at Rainforest, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Hi Nicole thanks for the great review. We think we are the perfect stop after the mountain and as you would have released we have a huge menu that caters for all tastes and most dietary requirements. Our outdoor seating is situated under some large...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Mount Warning Hotels
ecOasis Resorts
109 reviews
4.16 miles away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
114 reviews
5.71 miles away
Town Palms Motel
12 reviews
6.07 miles away
Tropical Coast Retreat
50 reviews
13.72 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Uki Pies
23 reviews
2.01 miles away
Re Cafe Nate
102 reviews
4.21 miles away
Mavis's Kitchen Restaurant
378 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
ISKCON New Govardhana
12 reviews
1.68 miles away
Tweed Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre
473 reviews
5.30 miles away
Red Rattlers Gallery
46 reviews
7.53 miles away
Mount Warning Tours
74 reviews
6.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marc b
July 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chez L | Property representative |
Yes we are dog friendly but we like the dog to be on a lead as there are chicken and wildlife present and we also require the owner to be responsible for doggie doo.
November 11, 2015|
Response from Chez L | Property representative |
hello ,yes we are BYO.
John Hazel T
September 12, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chez L | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are pet friendly but because we have some local wild life and our own free range chickens we require dogs to be on leads. We have a number of Gluten free meals on our every day menu as well as the specials, we... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$8 - $15
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 Mount Warning Rd, Mount Warning, New South Wales 2484, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Mount Warning
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6679 5955
  • E-mail
For a unique dining experience we offer indoor or the best outdoor settings amongst the trees in the shade. You will lulled by the gentle water garden creek , listening to the sounds of the bush. While you relax, your delicious fresh made to order meals and drinks will be served to you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor