We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Al Fresco

162 London Road | Hazel Grove, Hazel Grove, Stockport SK7 4DJ, England
+44 161 483 5511
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“pasta” (11 reviews)
“garlic bread” (8 reviews)
“duck” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
162 London Road | Hazel Grove, Hazel Grove, Stockport SK7 4DJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came last night with 12 of my friends and it was a truly lovely experience, the service was lovely, the staff were very smiley and friendly and the food was amazing, having read some of the awful reviews before visiting I was a little...More

Thank subo21
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been going to Al Fresco for around 15 years and have always had amazing food and impeccable service. The atmosphere and décor in the restaurant are superb. There is always a lively atmosphere but it's never overly loud so you can still have a...More

Thank Caroline L
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

It is nice to know that our hard work is apppreciated. Thank you for your sincere review and support.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't understand these recent poor reviews. This is our 10th trip to Al Fresco and they have always been amazing. Consistently good food and great atmosphere. Visit for yourself to see! Tonight we had the bolognese and the duck pasta and they were delicious....More

2  Thank abracacrocodile
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just eaten here and it was soooo average. The service was ok the prices was expensive especially for tasteless Italian food. The prices soooo not worth it... I only went here to prove to my partner it was average as I had been on a...More

Thank famp10
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Constructive criticism we welcome as this is something that we can learn from and make improvements ... this review is not!!! It becomes soooo personal when you tell others not to waste their money and a very poor way just to prove a point to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So, we had a starter, garlic bread etc.... this was a mound of grease!!! Saver of the day was that the main courses, both were ok... mine a tuna pasta and the other was a duck pasta (not laden with duck!) Prices a little dear...More

Thank Marky02
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

We were sorry to hear about your disappointment with the garlic bread .... It was not grease but extra virgin olive oil, if you had taken the time to speak to waiter he could have changed this for you. Our prices are competitive and in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Heard this was an authentic Italian restaurant and inside it certainly looked the part but overall thoroughly disappointed. Service was inoffensive but the food was very average. Didn't seem like there was much in terms of fresh ingredients (I'm pretty sure our "marinated olives" had...More

Thank Roisin R
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Yes our Olives are out of a jar and then marinated, where else would they come from ... a tree in the back garden!! All our meals are freshly prepared upon order and our wine list starts at £14.50 for a 75cl bottle.

Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

My partner & I had a lovely meal here over the weekend. Couldn't fault a thing! Lovely food, excellent service and great value for money. We will be returning!

1  Thank Fiona1390
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Pleasant enough restaurant serving average Italian food Expensive !!!! The pizza was small and boring nearly £9 for that !!!!! Lasagne small portion Calizone pizza was lovely but again expensive nearly £10 !!!! no garnish Very boring food !!!! The view from window onto A6...More

Thank Louise R
Management response:Responded April 24, 2017

Sorry to hear your personal review, but looking back at you bill, to us it is an average bill incl drinks of £55.80, which included a tip! As regards to your order of a Margerita pizza £8.20 this is a basic cheese and tomato topping,...More

Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Just had a take away from here. We took the garlic bread back straight away. It was disgusting. Over cooked , rock hard and tasted awful. They changed and gave us back £5 apologising. We ordered pizza, calzone, ribs and cabonara. All of it was...More

Thank cbibs
Reviewed April 3, 2017

This local restaurant that has served its visitors for years- seemed as if it was fulfilling its role but the joy, passion, ambience was missing from the whole experience. Food was OK - lacks the Italian freshness & flavours.....

Thank angela k
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Roberto Restaurant
67 reviews
.06 miles away
Grove Alehouse
9 reviews
.02 miles away
CockaDoodleMoo
654 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Golden Hind
17 reviews
1.15 miles away
Bramall Hall
338 reviews
1.87 miles away
The Acoustic Lounge
79 reviews
2.23 miles away
The Cask Tavern
40 reviews
2.21 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Rosalind H
do you cater for celiac sufferers?
January 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from SteveW15 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure if they do. The menu is extensive though and the staff are really helpful so if you call them they will let you know.
0
Votes
tallents
Can you pay by debit or credit cards
May 9, 2016|
Answer
Response from zujaira | Reviewed this property |
Hi there - I used a debit card with no problems
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 162 London Road | Hazel Grove, Hazel Grove, Stockport SK7 4DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Stockport  >  Hazel Grove
  • Phone Number: +44 161 483 5511
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing