We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Restaurante Portarade

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Praca Rainha Dona Leonor 17, Ferragudo 8400-234, Portugal
351282461310
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went to Ferragudo by sea Taxi for the evening from Portimao and loved the wonderful atmosphere as soon as we got off the boat around the Harbor, We wandered through cobbled streets and came across this wonderful Restaurant. The staff were really lovely and accommodating as we were a group of 9 they had to put tables together which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fleur B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous lunch here and was very happy with service, price and quality. The square you sit in is so pretty. A very picturesque village anyway and this little gem fits right in

Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a afternoon at Ferragudo beach , we decided to do a small city tour walking and then a stop to the square to find a restaurant .... This one was not busy when we arrived !!! ,, Staff was really, friendly, service not too long, food was really excellent ... When we lived , restaurant was completely filled ..Really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Thanks for taking the time to talk about your experience at Portarade. August is peak season and sometimes food can take time to prepare as you will have seen from other reviews.....your timing was perfect. Trust we may see you again in the future. Best wishes, Andrew, Helena and The Team More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful little seaside town with quaint cobblestone streets, a lovely harbour, and numerous restaurants. But Portarade in the famous square is the place to go. Previous posts are correct. The service is very slow. But no one is in any rush in this town. Top end of the bargain price range but the food is great and the portions big.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thanks for your review. At this time of year we do issue a food warning, that is, if demand comes all at once then meals can take longer to serve....for main meals this can be as much as 1 hour plus. We accept that for some this is unacceptable so those who choose to go elsewhere do so.....those... More 

hereford
Level Contributor
217 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in the town square in this quaint unspoilt place, this restaurant offers excellent value for money with it's all inclusive menu options. Ate here twice during our week's stay in the area & had the 11.50 euro menu, this includes bread, olives & sardine paste,followed by a choice of starter, main, dessert & coffee. The portions are large &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank helenyazor
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Delighted you were able to join us during your stay in Portugal. Our lunchtime set menu has been around for a few years now and seems to be very popular. We like to think we offer a value for money menu in a "great" location. We look forward to seeing you again at sometime in the future and... More 

Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the restaurant as a family and whilst it was clearly busy a table was soon available. The owner told us that there would be a wait for main course as it was exceptionally busy this was fine and in fact the food arrived well ahead of the suggested time. The food was very good and offered great value.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maynardmaynard
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Maynardmaynard, Yes, August does get very busy so we ask our customers to be patient.......we don't have the same issues in November as you will fully understand. We are sometimes able to deliver food more quickly than planned...it depends on the mix of meals as we have 3/4 stations in the kitchen. Pleased you enjoyed the experience and trust... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Waited over an hour for our starters still waiting for mains. Won't be coming back again. If you must go make sure you have nothing better to do that night.

Helpful?
Thank Gavin G
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Gavin Not making any excuses so your opinion is noted. We rely on repeat custom. In the main our clients leave having enjoyed the experience but on this occasion we failed to please.....it happens unfortunately so I offer an unreserved apology to you and your family. Trust you found quicker service at one of the other quality restaurants in Ferragudo.... More 

Miranda do Corvo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Order the prawn starter, it´s amazing, hot, juicy and savoury. Or ask for the prawn BBQ on your table, nominate a chef and cook gigantic prawns as you require. The mixed meat/fish starter is superb too, with local bread, quite enough for 2 people...or more.

Helpful?
Thank Paulette S
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Thanks for your review...but I think you have eaten in a different restaurant! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family ran restaurant. The food is cooked by an aged women in a tiny kitchen, she runs the kitchen with an iron rod of knowledge. The staff are friendly, are happy to be working & don't question the kitchen......the food is remarkably good, fresh & welcome after waiting so bloody long x

Helpful?
Thank Alison R
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Alison Not sure this has come to the right restaurant!! Thanks. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the Algarve every year and always swear by this place. The menu is both diverse and competitively priced. A must eat place!

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
James C, Owner at Restaurante Portarade, responded to this review

Hi Nicholas, Brief but to the point. We need to keep on our toes to ensure you keep coming back! Big thanks for your kind words....see you soon. Best wishes, Andrew, Helena and The Portarade Team More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Portarade also viewed

Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Ferragudo, Faro District
Ferragudo, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Portarade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $23
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Praca Rainha Dona Leonor 17, Ferragudo 8400-234, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Ferragudo
  • Phone Number: 351282461310
Description
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at this beautiful restaurant in the heart of Ferragudo. Popular year round 1~2~3 lunch special at 8,50, 10,00 and 11.50 Euros,served 12.00 To 15.00 Hours. Dinner menu served from 17.30 Until 22.30 In peak season (hours and days vary in November, December and January)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurante Portarade staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?