We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn

Stoke Road | Beaminster, Stoke Abbott DT8 3JW, England
+44 1308 868333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
“puds” (4 reviews)
“fish stew” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stoke Road | Beaminster, Stoke Abbott DT8 3JW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 189 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2016

Had a great night here on NYE. Good food, plenty of drink and fab atmosphere. Round of applause the Kirsty and Kev.More

Thank Robert C
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you had a great NYE. It was our first New Year at The New Inn and we were so pleased with how the evening went. Its also thank you to all our locals for celebrating with...More

Reviewed December 23, 2015

A hidden gem of a pub that is well worth the drive out to Stoke Abbott. Great local ales and delicious pub food. We were a big group in the restaurant and the team coped brilliantly serving steaks to perfection. The gorgeous open fire in...More

Thank Dazzer1968
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we are pleased that you had a great evening with friends. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed December 3, 2015

we had booked but our table was taken so we had to wait 20 mins in a cold room. We had to order twice as they were sold out by 7.45! We then waited another three quarter an hour for our main to be served.

3  Thank Caroline C
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

I can only apologise that your experience at The New Inn did not reach your expectations, and I can only hope you feel that you can come back and try us again in the future.

Reviewed November 24, 2015

We stopped here for Sunday lunch while out walking.We received a warm welcome. The pub was very accommodating and adjusted their menu to suit me which was great! Nothing was too much trouble. Great service. Nice and clean. Care taken in toilets to make them...More

Thank bbbythesea
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Thank you for your comments, we will always try to accommodate special requests, and as our food is all fresh and cooked to order we are able to do this. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Went to the new inn for a meal on 15th Oct with our friends. This is the second time we've been now as you can not beat the atmosphere here, the locals are so friendly as are the owners. Half of our party had the...More

Thank Raven B
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Thank you again for your wonderful comments. Its great to hear views from our customers, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Great food, great folks behind the bar and kitchen, friendly, happy place with a wonderful atmosphere for our 3 visits.

Thank paul1308
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visits to The New Inn. And we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Reviewed October 17, 2015

Decided last minute to go for the steak night, best decision we've ever made. Two steaks and a nice bottle of wine for £30. Couldn't fault the meal, steaks cooked to perfection and the service was excellent.The pub was busy, a mix of visitors and...More

Thank sixmoggies
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a good evening. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Stoke Abbott.

Reviewed October 5, 2015

We stopped here for Sunday lunch after doing a local walk. The food was great (we had carrot and coriander soup and fish & chips) and the service was also very friendly. It's a nice little village pub. Although we didn't have a roast, I...More

Thank Hazza656
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you for your comments, We are glad you had a lovely lunch. We hope to see you both again on your next visit.

Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

Went to this pub last night with our friends & family. Only went out for a drink. The atmosphere was buzzing! The locals were very friendly & even sang happy birthday to my friends daughter which was really sweet of them. The steaks looked lovely,...More

Thank Raven B
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you for your great comments. I'm glad your party had a lovely time, our locals do like to get involved and always try to make everyone feel welcome. We look forward to seeing you for our steak night.

Reviewed October 1, 2015

After a three hour country walk around this beautiful part of West Dorset, my wife & I had a most delicious pub lunch and a pint of Palmers Ale. The landlady was most welcoming and the atmosphere was of a genuine country pub. Certainly worth...More

Thank sdjulesdt1
Kirsty B, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you for your comments, and we are glad you had a lovely lunch here at The New Inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your next walk around our great countryside.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Lion
81 reviews
1.56 miles away
Brassica Restaurant
223 reviews
1.62 miles away
The Admiral Hood
171 reviews
2.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Broadwindsor Craft and Design Centre
59 reviews
1.00 miles away
Mapperton House & Gardens
182 reviews
3.11 miles away
South West Deer Rescue
50 reviews
4.81 miles away
Donkey Walking Adventures
15 reviews
.77 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul H
August 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Kirsty B | Property representative |
Yes we are
0
Votes
stravers2015
July 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from Kirsty B | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, we do Sunday lunch but not a carvery. The cost is £10 including all the trimmings. If you wish to book please let me know. Kirsty
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoke Road | Beaminster, Stoke Abbott DT8 3JW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Stoke Abbott
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 868333
  • E-mail
Description
The New Inn is a Traditional Village inn serving great food and real ales to both the local community and guests from further afield. We offer a great range of meals, with ingredients locally sourced, complemented by Palmer's Reals Ales and some great wines. We have a bar area and a separate restaurant, both with roaring log fires. The outside area has a large lawn for lazing on those summer days. Children and well behaved dogs are very welcome, and we have a seperate childrens menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing