We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Finchampstead $$ - $$$ , British,
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
+44 118 973 2269
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
3 days ago
“A get-together”
2 weeks ago
“Great lunh”
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 521 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Went here on a Sunday afternoon after hearing good things from various people. We sat out in the courtyard garden which was nice, busy but not crowded! The servers were very attentive and the selection of beer and ale was good. However the thing that...More

Thank Alex_C55555
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The Greyhound has an attractively decorated interior with pleasant outside eating area. Service was friendly and efficient and as well as the normal menu there was a good selection of specials. We shared a baked camembert with fresh crusty bread and followed this with the...More

Thank JayneHTB
Reviewed 2 days ago

You read it right because I went with my wife and a dog for the first time and my god, their meal were AMAZING. As a freelance chef and worked for restaurants, hotels and even private catering company for the last 17 years and this...More

Thank MartyMcFly2011
Reviewed 3 days ago

The venue is clean and tidy, the staff are friendly and they make tasty brownies! The food is delicious and the water is 'on tap' with either lemon or cucumber - refreshing!

Thank SRule
Reviewed 5 days ago

We ate here for Fathers Day, there were 6 of us in our group and we sat in the lovely garden area. The service here is really good, the bar man was very polite, friendly and made us feel very welcome. My initial thoughts on...More

1  Thank JadeyNunn
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Wow! Such a tasty lunch! The "Double Daddy Burger" almost defeated my husband & the rump of lamb.... well, it was so tender the lamb must of had a full body massage before it was "taken off to market"! Sun was shining, staff all chatty...More

Thank MissSallySunshine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second visit & disappointed. Main course portion smaller and dessert of lemon and pistachio pudding awful. The marshmallow with it rubbery. Very very small portion of ice cream too. Ordered a portion of broccoli arrived as asparagus and spinach! No apology or explanation. Pity as...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank John B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for unplanned Sunday lunch, the team at Greyhound managed to accommodate us at short notice. The dinner was presented very well and full of flavour, I we recommend the place, as this is my fourth visit over last months and quality has been very...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank steven_saunders
Reviewed 1 week ago

A booked table. Food was great , waitress a gem but experience and attitude of their "management" dire. 1 hour from taking our order starter arrived , a further 50 minutes the main course arrived . The reason ( excuse ) " we were fully...More

1  Thank James H
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear James I am very sorry to learn of your disappointing visit to the Greyhound on Saturday night and I apologise that your complaint was not handled properly at the time. I have investigated this internally and I would be very grateful it if you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a reliable stop when in the area for a decent lunch. Friendly staff. Children welcome. Good variety on the menu and the meals presented well.

Thank DNP13
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad the family enjoyed their lunch and hope we see you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chequers
533 reviews
.92 miles away
The Frog & Wicket
253 reviews
.93 miles away
Rosie's Tea Room
15 reviews
.93 miles away
Nearby Attractions
California Country Park
144 reviews
1.05 miles away
Leisure Matters
34 reviews
1.97 miles away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
117 reviews
2.25 miles away
Cricketers
34 reviews
2.53 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jasimmons2016
Interesting that the manager has responded to all the 'good' reviews but has not bothered to address the points raised in my review, presumably because they were, on the whole, negative. This refers to the review 'Disappointing Valentines dinner'. It would have been nice to know why we were treated as we were. Admittedly the majority of reviews are very favourable but none of the points raised in my review were invalid or untrue so why no response??!!
March 5, 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Dear Jasimmons Thank you for your contact and I am sorry that your review was missed for a response. I had been falling behind my responses and replied to a number of responses together and as I felt your review required... More
0
Votes
Karl_n_Cas
Are dogs allowed in the bar area at this pub?
December 30, 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Absolutely! With a name like The Greyhound we wouldn't have it any other way. We welcome well behaved pooches and their owners in the bar area and garden, we always have doggy treats on hand and bowls of fresh water. Thanks... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Finchampstead
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2269
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing