We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boot Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
+44 1722 790243
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Tue - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have read some recent reviews, a few of which have been negative. I found nothing negative about our visit today. Two families, eight people, had a delicious lunch, beautifully cooked and served by friendly staff. Well worth the miles travelled and I will willingly travel those miles again for a meal such as we had today. Well done the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chillhill2017
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a very pleasant traditional local, food is excellent, staff are very efficient and friendly, general friendly atmosphere to the place, Wadsworth 6x bitter and IPA on draught. Worth a stop or visit for a meal.

Helpful?
Thank Andy E
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A few minutes down the road from stone hedge . I was clean and the staff polite. The food was really good, and the prices fair. We had a group of five and no one had any complaints at all. Everything was delicious. Had Shepard beef and ale pie. Fluffy top pastry good tender beef .

Helpful?
Thank Tartutic
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying in a nearby campsite We took a walk in the afternoon past the pub and seen their board up with a list of entertainment on and decided to visit that evening. When we arrived we were informed that there was a private party on in the whole pub but if we wanted we could have a quick one. Unhappy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deethomas6758
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry. I had put a sign up on the door but as you rightly say nothing on the A board. I did contact the managers of the campsite the week before the party to let them know what was going on that night as this is not a usual occurrence at the Boot and in fact the... More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good beer, but we couldn't get food due to it being quiz night, so we walked to the next nearest and ate there.

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have as a family had 2 or 3 meals here a year over the past few years and have always enjoyed excellent food and value for money. The last visit the food wasn't so great but we assumed they were having an "off day" so said nothing. Today we arrived as a party of eight with a table booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard_wilyman
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

As I explained at the time of your visit, we had sold a lot of ploughman’s lunches that day and by the time that you ordered we had run out of the half baguettes that we usually serve, however the bread served to you was picked up fresh from the baker that morning and sliced by us in house. I... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a Sunday lunch as we were passing through the area on our way home. Staff were welcoming and accommodating as we hadn't booked but that's where the pleasantries stopped. My roast was disappointing to say the least my beef while delicious and tender was 80% fat in two measly slices. Veg over cooked and roast potatoes hard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dpf87
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments. I am really upset and disappointed that you did not mention any of this during your visit especially when you were table checked. When you came to the bar to buy a pack of snacks you jokingly made a remark that your daughter was “being fussy” but made no other comments. Had you mentioned... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub. Stopped there on a chance half way through a long walk. Though fully booked for lunch they found us a table. We only ordered sandwich and ploughman but all from local products and generous in size. The staff was very helpful and friendly and they welcome dogs. I would suggest to book for sit down meals as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank gaedy a
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot on another occasion. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this pub. Food is excellent and staff friendly and attentive. We regularly go and always have a good meal.

Helpful?
Thank hamilton65
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I was so pleased to read your kind and positive comments and I will be sure to pass then on to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boot Inn in the near future. More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017

We haven't been to the Boot in several years but were looking forward to revisiting it. Disappointing, is all we can say. Menu looks scrumptious. Mains slightly pricey but not if superb quality. Children's menu looked a bit pricey - ditto. The menu was varied and wide ranging. Sausage and Mash. Sausages were somewhat bland and the skins quite tough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCHOxfordshire
Cathy D, Owner at The Boot Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit and I am sorry that you felt disappointed by your experience. We do concentrate on producing fresh, local, seasonal dishes and think that our pricing if fair for the quality of the food produced. It is a little unclear from your comments whether you had a... More 

Travelers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Winterbourne Stoke, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$13 - $23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:15 pm
6:30 pm - 9:15 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | Berwick St James, Berwick St James, Salisbury SP3 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury  >  Berwick St James
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790243
Description
The Boot Inn is a small country pub just a mile from the A303 and a few miles from Stonehenge we are located 7 miles from Salisbury in the pretty village of Berwick St James.
With an open fire in the winter months and a large garden for dining in the summer months the Boot is a great place to be come rain or shine.
We are family friendly and we welcome dogs so it is an ideal place to meet up with friends and family.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boot Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boot Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?