We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Fyne - Gosforth

West Avenue, Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 4ES, England
+44 191 255 9320
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“mussels” (60 reviews)
“seafood” (48 reviews)
“haggis” (21 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West Avenue, Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 4ES, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had a bad experience in the past at a (different) Loch Fyne, so we were apprehensive about giving it another try - we were very pleasantly surprised - had a terrific meal, could not fault the food and the service was impeccable! We were...More

Thank Alison G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to try the lunch menu today it was our first visit to the venue it was amazing nice and cosy a lovely atmosphere, Food was Devine the seafood platter is to die for,and a big thankyou to our waiter Jay for the recommendations and...More

2  Thank paris d
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this restaurant on very wet Saturday night. We were really impressed with the ambiance and the range of the menu. We had an excellent meal (Baked Sea Bass and Grilled Bream) served by our very friendly waiter Jack. Unfortunately, Our previously ordered taxi...More

Thank PeterMcQ
Reviewed 1 week ago

im a seafood lover who has eaten all over the world, tried this place,, very plain,, food way over priced , definitely not fresh and pretty plain food, im a chef myself and was very disappointing in the quality,, or lack of,, and staff were...More

Thank _cblakeccs
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to visit a restaurant with a little something special, both in surroundings and food then Loch Fyne is for you. The seafood is to die for and the service is prompt and friendly. We will be back soon!

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank U1859RXdawnt
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi U1859RXdawnt, Many thanks for your brilliant review. We hope to see you back soon. Regards Darren - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here for our daughters birthday and the service was great, the food lovely, we will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Travel_bunny_8
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Travel_bunny_8, Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you visit us again soon. Regards Darren - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are first time diners at Loch Fyne Gosforth and it won't be the last. Made very welcome on arrival, given the option of table placement and it was a wonderful experience, which will live long in our memories. I enjoy three firsts, first ever...More

Thank Hotthighs
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Hotthighs, Thank you so so much for the first class review. Reviews like this really make the job worthwhile and I personally love hearing my staff personally mentioned in reviews. I've already shown it to Jack and he's over the moon. Once again, many...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch with friends and had fish and chips , although the quality of the lunch was very good we all were of the opinion that it was rather pricey, unfortunately it was rather quiet and a large space to fill did not help...More

Thank josie d
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi josie d, Many thanks for the review. The restaurant is a very large space to fill so when it comes to atmosphere, we try our best with background music and making our guests feel at home. For atmosphere, obviously our dinner sitting is a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent meal and excellent service, would definitely come back, the kids menu is great and different to the usual one offer in other restaurants, can't fault the food as it's so great. Been there few times never have a bad experience. Would visit more often...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Monica L
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Monica L, Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you back soon. Regards Darren - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went with friends to the burns night. There was a piper at the door to welcome you in which was a nice touch. The service was fairly good, the young guy who was serving never stopped. The food overall was a disappointment. I had...More

Thank Linda026
LochFyne G, General Manager at Loch Fyne - Gosforth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Linda026, I'm really sorry you weren't happy with the food on our Burns night. All of our problems and complaints can be resolved in house if brought to our attention at the time. We had no other complaints about the haggis or the cod...More

PreviousNext
12345663
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Gosforth Hotels
The Townhouse Hotel
195 reviews
.06 miles away
Jesmond Dene House
1,204 reviews
.79 miles away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
270 reviews
.99 miles away
Cairn Hotel
563 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
San Lorenzo
172 reviews
.05 miles away
Greyjoy's
21 reviews
.12 miles away
Cafe No. 95
179 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Northumbria Classic Car Hire
113 reviews
.17 miles away
The Gosforth Hotel
37 reviews
.17 miles away
Beauty At the inn
58 reviews
.46 miles away
City of Newcastle Golf Club
17 reviews
.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jean P
December 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from John E | Reviewed this property |
i'm not sure round about 2010 I think
0
Votes
Nick A
October 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard H | Reviewed this property |
You can either use hte car park as suggested, or simply try for a free on-street parking space in adjacent roads.
0
Votes
bellabeer
July 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew D | Reviewed this property |
part of a pub group , can only suggest you check the website to see if anyone has updated the menu page
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$42 - $88
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Avenue, Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 4ES, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne  >  Gosforth
  • Phone Number: +44 191 255 9320
  • E-mail
Description
Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing