We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copper Penny

Christchurch Road | Baglan retail park, Port Talbot SA12 7BZ, Wales
+44 1639 820146
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
“cake” (6 reviews)
“play area” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Christchurch Road | Baglan retail park, Port Talbot SA12 7BZ, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Presentation was poor my meal was served on a small plate so everything was piled on top of each other and my wife's meal was over cooked, when we complained nobody apoligised all they said was they had been busy and did not have time...More

Thank malcolm j
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many Thanks for your feedback malcolm j At this stage please accept our apologies the day non question caught us out with the increased level of business than normal. We got it wrong and for that we apologise.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place is quite nice, clean with friendly staff food was pretty good but the other customers spoil the place. I called there mid day for lunch and also been there about 6ish and being close to the industrial estate there were what i expect a...More

Thank stevehandley40
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many Thanks for the feedback stevehandley40 all positives are taken and given to the team, we'll try and limited the disruption next time.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first time that my family and I ever had a Christmas Lunch out. We all really enjoyed our visit and we all had a full lunch. Manager and staff welcoming from the moment we walked into the Copper Penny. Food excellent from...More

Thank donella1960
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many Thanks donella1960 for taking the time out to write a review. We are always happy to hear that our customers had a brilliant experience with us, as a team we thank you for spending your Christmas Day with us and look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time eating out on Boxing Day-if only we had known in previous years! Excellent price-very varied menu (plus plenty of floor space to move around in(ie not overly crowded-which I was expecting Menu was very reasonable price wise-drinks likewise,plus minimal crowds,ordering refills was easy(no...More

1  Thank D9417OPphilipw
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

D9417OPphilipw Thank you for writing a review and taking the time to do so. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on Christmas Day for our family Christmas meal as a party of 8 people. We arrived at 2:55 to be seated at 3, they told us that our table wasn’t ready yet and for us to wait, we were seated at 3:10....More

Thank Annie L
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many Thanks Annie L for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to hear you didn’t enjoy your Christmas Day with us and at this point we can only apologise. We agree that your table was a little later than anticipated, as...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Christmas dinner booked and paid for in advance. Elected to attend for the early sitting of 12:30. All the staff were very welcoming and it was pleasing to see the manager, Phil, high profile in meeting and greeting guests on what was probably the busiest...More

1  Thank PattayaRegular
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many Thanks PattayaRegular for taking the time to write a review We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and decided to share Christmas Day with us. Please think about us next year too.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We come here today with the family for our Christmas lunch, and I have to day I was very disappointed. Food wasn't very nice, and that's from the starter through to the dessert, also after our mains we waited 45 mins for the waitress to...More

1  Thank Liam D
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many Thanks Liam D for taking the time and effort to write a review. On a positive note, it’s good to hear the staff were friendly. Having just checked your bill from Christmas Day, I can assure you; you were not charged the addition money...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing to see the local pub gradually getting worse with so many staff changes there’s a different team each time we go. Shame really as other Marston pubs are very good. Time for a revamp, carvery is so 70s!More

Thank Rbgleaves
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback Rbgleaves We really enjoy showing off our carvery offer and we have the full grill menu to run alongside it, so we try to provide something for everyone. We will be having a revamp as we are looking forward to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were a family that visited on Tuesday. We had preordered. Starters were lovely even though we found it odd that all the prawn cocktails came without lemon. Then main course preordered remember!! We were told they had run out of beef. We found it...More

Thank Kristina7474
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you were disappointed in your experience on Tuesday, but we hope that the prosecco went some way as an apology. Sadly, beef was popular Tuesday and at the time of your party, the next joint of beef wasn’t up to temperature to...More

Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We called off chance on a Sunday afternoon. It wasn't overly busy and majority of people were having the carvery which did look very nice. We decided to opt for something off the menu. The lady behind the bar showed us a vacant table we...More

Thank srh19
General M, General Manager at Copper Penny, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Hi srh19 Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are sorry, you had to wait a little longer than expected for your meals but so glad you enjoyed them. On your next visit show this response to a member of...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Port Talbot Hotels
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
799 reviews
.73 miles away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
309 reviews
.82 miles away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
528 reviews
1.10 miles away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
656 reviews
2.79 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bagle Brook Beefeater
464 reviews
.83 miles away
Cinnamon Kitchen Indian Restaurant
382 reviews
.83 miles away
cafe remo's
591 reviews
.72 miles away
Francos Fish Bar
408 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberavon Beach
420 reviews
.75 miles away
Baked Bean Museum of Excellence
68 reviews
.65 miles away
Afan Lido and Leisure Centre
19 reviews
.75 miles away
Surf School Wales
30 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
C L
July 17, 2017|
Answer
Response from General M | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Our outside shelter provides some protection from the sunshine and rain but we would not refer to it as waterproof.
1
Vote
Fisher1984
April 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General M | Property representative |
Many Thanks for the enquiry. Outside we have a number of picnic benches, where well behaved dogs are allowed, but inside only registered guide dogs are permitted.
2
Votes
Clive W
February 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from General M | Property representative |
Hi Many Thanks for your enquiry, we have a 2 for £10 menu as a promotion that runs on a Monday to Friday
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Television, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Christchurch Road | Baglan retail park, Port Talbot SA12 7BZ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Neath Port Talbot  >  Port Talbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1639 820146
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing