We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Cock

2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
+44 1484 664863
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“braised beef” (20 reviews)
“burger” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 797 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Golden cock is consistently excellent - they looked after a group of 12 of us this weekend after our walk - all very thirsty and hungry - great prompt service despite being busy - thanks Ricardo and team - see you soon 😀

Thank Napril
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The food was lovely , quiet surroundings and great views . nice for a catch up with friends . Wasn't a long wait for food either which is always a bonus

Thank Kirsty B
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Golden Cock is in a lovely village setting with pleasant decor, and good car parking it also has a nice outdoor sitting area, with pleasant views across the countryside. We found the staff welcoming and attentive, although the pub was fairly quiet on the...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped into The Golden Cock for dinner without booking, was shown straight to a table for 6 of us. Very good service, and the pub served good value pub food, we had steaks, fish and the pie of the day which were all good....More

Thank Glaws19
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Hi there and many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here after energetic cycle ride around the hills of Huddersfield. Obviously popular for Sunday lunch, although we only wanted something lighter. Fairly good choice of food if a bit pricey. Range of beers. Friendly young staff.More

Thank John H
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Hi there and many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your ride and your post exertion refreshments at The Golden Cock. See you next time. Maybe call in when our unbeatable value "Two Dine for £12.99" is running ( which is all the time...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We brought our Norwegian friends here for a midweek evening meal. It was very quiet. The staff made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We had a great time. The food was very good. Two of us had the Duck which I...More

Thank driw500
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

And thank you for visiting and taking the time to leave a review. Lovely to hear you had an enjoyable evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meet here every 6 weeks or so. Food always good, staff always friendly. Can get very busy and I think groups meet here often so might be better to book.

Thank sharonweavill
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely words and also the advice abut booking as we do get very busy and hate to disappoint! See you in 6 weeks or so.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here after a long walk. 4 of us ordered. The burger and fish and chips were lovely and enjoyed by the boys, but they weren't overwhelmed by the size. 2 of us had the braised beef. It was a bit tasteless and tiny. Glad...More

Thank SuzanneHartshorne
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Hi there and many thanks for your review. We appreciate your compliments on the atmosphere at the pub and are glad to hear that your boys enjoyed their meals. Our Two Dine for £12.99 offer represents excellent value for freshly cooked to order food and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having visited the Golden Cock for Sunday Lunch I would like to say the the young man who served our table was a delight being both attentive and efficient. The food I had was from the £20.99 set menu and everything about it was fabulous.

Thank hughesattheheights
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward ro seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So, our first visit to our home town from the US in 7 years. A friend wanted to arrange dinner for us and a few close friends so he chose the Golden Cock. A lot has changed here in recent years and it used to...More

Thank AndyinMarineland
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this review

Hi there and many thanks for your review. We appreciate your compliments on the pub itself and the service you received from our staff. However we are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your meals and will not be returning. We urge readers...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jacobs Well
139 reviews
1.56 miles away
The Clothiers Arms
130 reviews
1.66 miles away
Punch Bar & Tapas
76 reviews
1.71 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Summer Wine Brewery Tap
10 reviews
1.49 miles away
Castle Hill
354 reviews
1.11 miles away
Tolson Museum
142 reviews
2.34 miles away
Emley Moor transmitting station
115 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
hanaedy
Are you dog friendly at all?
May 18, 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Clare O | Property representative |
Hi there. Yes dogs are very welcome in the bar area and water bowls are provided.
0
Votes
AndyinMarineland
In response to Claire's comments, we did let you know at the time of dining that we thought the food was poor and our comments were duly noted.
May 7, 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from AndyinMarineland | Reviewed this property |
It is clearly not a question. It is a response to the establishment. There is no question.
0
Votes
dj_vhughes
Do they have any overnight rooms?
December 17, 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Clare O | Property representative |
Hi there. Sorry, but we do not have accommodation. Thanks for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $23
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Huddersfield  >  Farnley Tyas
  • Phone Number: +44 1484 664863
  • E-mail
Description
Ricardo & Anneli welcome you to their lovely country pub, serving top quality food and drink with style and warmth.