We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
+27 21 554 1553
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 564: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit Ons Huisie on Saturday 29 April 2017. Waitor service were good, but the food were poor. We ordered Baskets, there were no potato bites in the baskets, the samoosas tasted old and was split open, and only one(1) of other a snack, called a half-moon, or something,. It was extremely greasy, not up to standard. We are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank pomela23
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear HorsesHeed, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the substandard basket you received on your recent visit. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been often to the restaurant and never had a bad day ... but today erm not so good, service EXTRA slow, food very average.... prawns with poop shoots?!, bill with no pen, and then still ask what tip we must add?? Won't be back in a hurry ... pity nice venue

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations on your visit on Worker's Day. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for an early breakfast on a Sunday morning with our elderly mother in a wheelchair. We had wonderful service, with the manager and staff going the extra mile to accommodate us in one of the private rooms. Our breakfast was, as always, delicious. Most of the group had the Ons Huisie breakfast which is very good value at... More 

Helpful?
Thank CecileMazewski
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear CecileMazewski, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about your recent visit to Ons Huisie restaurant. We do hope that we can live up to it! We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and view. Our service is the cornerstone of our little restaurant and we are delighted that the team assisted you... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This venue is exceptionally busy. queing for a table is the norm. Prices are low to medium. service leaves a lot to be desired. helpers can learn to smile. I cant stand it when condiments and plates are removed without the couretesy of asking if it is ok. Coffee and cappuccinos were mediocre. breakfast was ok., mushrooms were shredded and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive F
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Clive F, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for unfriendly and insufficient service that you received during your recent visit. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the... More 

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good but service was stale. We sat around for 10 minutes without anyone taking our order. The place wasn't busy yet at just after 0930. Eventually we flagged a waiter down who helped but not very willingly. He got our order wrong after trying to memorize everything so we got hot milk instead of cold... wouldn't recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank j0766
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear j0766, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for unacceptable service that you received during your recent visit. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location is superb and Parking is available. It is very busy and the waiters are friendly. Menu selection is good and the food was very enjoyable. Not so good for non-dog lovers or people who are allergic to dog hair.

Helpful?
Thank inxstr
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear inxstr, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit for brunch. We are delighted that you received service with a smile and enjoyed our menu selection. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon. Kind Regards, Management More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a fantastic position in front of Small Bay. Good food and wine after a long summer day spent at beach. Calamari are the best.

Helpful?
Thank Simonetta D
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Simonetta D, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit for breakfast. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep for... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Average food/seafood but still an enjoyable experience, great for kids but not great for us without!

Helpful?
Thank Yajna G
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Yajna G, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit and for coming back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with the kids. Our clients' feedback is of the utmost importance to help us improve on quality of service and guest satisfaction. Do keep us in mind on your next... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Ons huisie has a great location and also caters for kids. Inside the restaurant you also find history and pictures of Bloubergstrand which is quite interesting. Their food is decent - not something that I would rave about but definitely decent and worth a try. Their service can be slow at times.

Helpful?
Thank Anne549
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Anne549, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our historic atmosphere and food. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon. Kind Regards, Management More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2017

One of our favourite restaurants, lovely views and generally good service. Their fish and chips is highly recommended, I have never been disappointed. Fresh fish and crispy batter. Food is good. Unfortunately if you would like a good cup of coffee after your meal I would recommend that you go elsewhere, the coffee is below standard and tasteless.

Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Shirley L, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoy our fish and chips, and keep coming back for more! We will discuss your comments regarding our coffee with the management to see how we can address it. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Travelers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1553

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ons Huisie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?