We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
+27 21 554 1553
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 563: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As we stayed at a nearby BB we have been there a few days in a row. Meeting friends there is always a pleasure, the food always very good. My all time favorite is their famous fish and chips, what a portion! And then the baskets...staff always very friendly. We have again made a big booking at the back in... More 

Helpful?
Thank wilnaventer
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Atmosphere is nice and the staff is very friendly. We didn't try the food, but will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jaco v
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is stunning, overlooking Blouberg's Kleinbaai but one feels that the dining experience is average at best. There are better places to go in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Freshairviews
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Freshairviews, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ons Huisie. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we are concerned that you descibe your experience as average at best. We hope to see you again soon in order to change your mediocre experience into a phenomenal one. Kind... More 

Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last night was one of those evenings we should have gone somewhere else to have dinner. My husband ordered the chicken pie and I had the ribs with veggies on the side. The crust of the pie was burned, food arrived cold at the table (despite our request that the food must be hot) and my ribs were slapped on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank almarie2017
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear almarie2017, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the food you received during your recent visit was not up to our usual standard. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Irritated by the hawkers practically inside the restaurant! Annoying and spoils this restaurants atmosphere. Do something about it!

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Michael J, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize that the street vendors spoiled the atmosphere on your visit. We will address the problem to the best of our abilities. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure... More 

Goodwood, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We first sat outside but it was cold, so we went inside to a room it was comfortable. But there was a telephone in the next room ringing........ . Food was good and service was good. Missing the traditional food ?

Helpful?
Thank Mike_G6308
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Mike_G6308, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the food and received good service on your visit. We will try to address your concerns regarding the phone calls causing nuisance to our patrons. We have various traditional items on the menu such as... More 

Louis Trichardt, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is nothing fancy about Ons Huisie. At first you might think, why dit I come here? This is old traditional seafood in a very quickly changing area. I will visit again. For the fish and chips!

Helpful?
Thank Pinotage82
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Pinotage82, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit for our fish and chips. We will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon. Kind Regards, Management More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay away! Used to be such an amazing place with equally amazing food, but things have changed. Can't get simple food like a toasted sandwich correct. Lovely view but terrible over priced food..

Helpful?
Thank Jaryn R
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Jaryn R, Thank you for taking the time to voice your bad experience at Ons Huisie. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very accommodation when a table for 8 just arrived at their door. Great staff, tasty food, a most enjoyable night was had by all.

Helpful?
Thank eyer72
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear eyer72, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit! We are delighted that you enjoyed your food. We do hope that you visit us again in the near future to experience the awesome sunsets from our stoep! Kind Regards, Management More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit Ons Huisie on Saturday 29 April 2017. Waitor service were good, but the food were poor. We ordered Baskets, there were no potato bites in the baskets, the samoosas tasted old and was split open, and only one(1) of other a snack, called a half-moon, or something,. It was extremely greasy, not up to standard. We are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank pomela23
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear HorsesHeed, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the substandard basket you received on your recent visit. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and... More 

Travelers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1553

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ons Huisie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?