We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 554 1988
Website
Today
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 447: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perfect place for a special occasion was greeted very friendly at the door, waiter very friendly and helpful as there was no chicken dish on the menu and the chef made a chicken risotto for me, delicious! Stunning view, just, unfortunately, a very large touring company arrived with two busses and the was our quiet evening gone! It was then... More 

Helpful?
Thank wilnaventer
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly greeting at arrival. We decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. Not a huge variety on the menu, but we decided to go for seafood platter for 2. Awesome platter, had better mussels though - but the rest made up for it. Waiters timing just perfect every time! Will I go back? Yes, but only when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neels K
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Neels K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. It's fantastic to hear you received great service and enjoyed our seafood platter for 2. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Management More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have ventured to a plethora of "West coast" eateries in the area between Blouberg and Melkbosstrand and there are many! This one is a step up in every way! Quality of food, service, decor, table setting, winelist and last but certainly not least the view from the deck! Booking is advised, allows corkage but winelist is excellent, you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freshairviews
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Freshairviews, Thank you for taking the time to review On the Rocks restaurant after your recent visit. We are delighted and humbled by your compliments! We will share your positive review with the rest of the team. Thank you for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back to On the Rocks restaurant again soon. Kind Regards, Management More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Bloubergstrand for the weekend and decided to have dinner at On The Rocks Restaurant. We were welcomed and seated at a window table with a great view of Cape Town and Robben Island at night, with the tranquil sound of the ocean and waves breaking. The food was delicious and they definitely have the BEST cheesecake I... More 

Helpful?
Thank lean3t
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear lean3t, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our view and that you received great service from Arthur. A five star review is always a great motivator for us all and we... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a horrible experience at this restaurant. I had heard from a coworker that it was delicious and the views were spectacular. Only one of those was true. The tablecloth was dirty. We had asked for scallops and crawfish and they were both out. The oysters that we got were old and did not taste good. And main courses we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riaa D
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Riaa D, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize that you did not receive our normal standard of service and that we were out of stock of the items you were interested in. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. We... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a late lunch on 30 April 2017. It was a wonderful experience, with a friendly waiter, good wine and the fish was to die for! The atmosphere is wonderful, and although it was windy outside, we sat next to the window with Table Mountain as background view, so we still had the view overlooking the ocean, without the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lianie Meyer D
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Lianie Meyer D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our fish and wine options and that you received great service. A five star review is always a great motivator for us... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are having breakfast at this gorgeous spot and like kippers then you are in for a treat. Small pieces of poached kipper are served in a delicious creamy Provencal sauce, accompanied by scrambled eggs, rocket and tomato. The coffee is really good too. Quick, friendly service topped off a very good visit.

Helpful?
Thank KNEES13
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear KNEES13, Thank you for writing about your experience at On The Rocks. We value all our patrons' opinions and it was such a pleasure reading about yours, we will surely share your comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back to On The Rocks soon for another sumptuous breakfast! Kind regards, Management More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favourite restaurant in Cape Town. Well it was before last night anyway although I should have known what was to come just from my booking experience. I emailed the contact on their website twice and was just completely ignored so had to call in and give my name to the person 5 times before it was taken... More 

Helpful?
Thank SteveMac85
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear SteveMac85, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize for the unacceptable and unprofessional service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been there twice and in my opinion, this restaurant is overpriced. First time there were people from overseas with us and they ordered lobsters. Ok, they are usually expensive but there are many places in Cape Town where you can eat better cooked and tasty lobster for 30% less money. Second time some of us ate meat and other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice L
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Alice L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. We will discuss the comments regarding the value for money with the team to see how we can improve on the experiences we... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I always try & visit when I'm in Cape Town. The wonderful scenery, friendly & efficient service, and delicious menu keep me coming back. And don't let the setting or quality fool you, it is also great value for money. This is an amazing place to while away a few hours, whether it be for brunch, sundowners or dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette B
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Bernadette B, Thank you for sharing your experience about you recent visit to On the Rocks. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our food, service and view! It is always a great motivator to all the staff to know we are still on the right track, especially if we receive a 5 star rating. Hope to see you... More 

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1988

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of On The Rocks and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from On The Rocks staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?