We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

On The Rocks

45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 554 1988
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“line fish” (12 reviews)
“fillet steak” (7 reviews)
“creme brulee” (6 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

OK, the view is great and it is lovely to watch the sun go down from the terrace with a glass of chilled white wine to hand. However the food is distinctly average and the service not amazing so I wouldn't bother going back.More

Thank Ashsaw
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Ashsaw, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was so disappointed with the overall atmosphere. It was 21h30 on Valentine's day and we were having an average dessert when the tables and chairs around us were moved and the staff were preparing for the next day. It was supposed to be a...More

Thank Guestwithkids
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guestwithkids Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to profusely apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us went to dine there, the menu choices are very limited all on a single A4 page. Avoid choosing the Seafood Malay style curry it was awful. When I challenged the manager about why there was no curry taste he admitted that instead...More

Thank bob_cope2
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear bob_cope2 Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to profusely apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes. We value all reviews...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has always been one of our favourite restaurants, the location is one of the best in the world. Two of us had good meals but one had overcooked fish which was a little sad in a restaurant like thisMore

Thank 770carol
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 770carol, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is truly important to us. I would like to apologize for your recent experience at On The Rocks Restaurant. Your comments have been noted and will be discussed with the team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Instant friendly service at the door, we were seated with a great view and we had no reservation. We were served by Carmen who gave us outstanding service and helped us select dishes off the menu and we were not disappointed by her recommendations. Excellent...More

Thank 107Chris
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review Your kind words are much appreciated and will be shared with the rest of the team. Five Star reviews are always good motivation to keep providing our guests with a high...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recommended this restaurant by friends and we were not dissapointed,a very warm welcome on arrival and our waiter Maxwell was a star,food was excellent and the wine choice very good,we will be going back.More

Thank peter_felsing1
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear peter_felsing1, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. 5 Star reviews are what we strive for and receiving one makes all the hard work and effort worth it. We will definitely share your review...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying just down the road . It was a pretty windy blustery evening so without a reservation we tried our chances here. Lovely friendly service. Very interested waiter who cared enough to ask if we had any allergies ( as my friend wanted...More

Thank Eire72
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Eire72, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our restaurant. Your kind words will definitely be shared with the rest of the team. Five Star reviews are always good...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch on the 31st Dec 2017 to celebrate my partner's birthday and felt completely let down by the service. It took the best part of 45 minutes four our orders to be taken and exactly an hour later we were told that the...More

Thank jhml16
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jhml16 Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to profusely apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes or service. We value...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were celebrating our 10th Anniversary and being a little romantic wanted somewhere special. The setting is beautiful, view of Table Mountain as well as Robben Island and the setting sun. Then it was disappointing, for an upmarket restaurant their menu is rather limited one...More

Thank 1Narrowboat
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 1Narrowboat, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize that you did not receive our normal standard of service at On The Rocks. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of my favorite places to visit for lunch or dinner. I would recommend it for dinner as it has stunning sunset views. You can sit on the outside, but ensure that you have a booking inside for later as it does become a bit...More

Thank Nelisa S
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nelisa, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at On The Rocks. Your kind words will definitely be passed on to the rest of the team. Five Star reviews are...More

PreviousNext
12345651
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Bloubergstrand
Pinard on Sea
63 reviews
.01 miles away
Blue Peter Hotel
110 reviews
.29 miles away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
55 reviews
.44 miles away
Radisson Blu Hotel Blaauwberg, Cape Town
1 review
.92 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Blue Peter
475 reviews
.29 miles away
Ons Huisie
702 reviews
.07 miles away
moyo Blouberg
416 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Surf Big Bay
86 reviews
.26 miles away
Loisico Tours and Excursions
57 reviews
.82 miles away
Cape Town Surf School (Pty) Ltd
19 reviews
.35 miles away
High Five
5 reviews
.81 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nsamps0n
March 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LekkeNeh12 |
45 Stadler Rd, Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
2
Votes
Erica B
October 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carisa M | Property representative |
Beste Erica, Ons het 'n menu vir Kersfees uit. Dit moet bespreek en betaal word vooruit. U kan 'n bespreking maak direk by die restaurant 021 554 1553. Vriendelike groete, Carisa
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1988
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing