We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woolpack

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Main Street | Esholt, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7QZ, England
+44 1274 809495
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,286 reviews
585 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited with a largish group and although we had booked ahead, due to some miscommunication, tables were not saved. It was busy in the afternoon as obviously popular due to Emmerdale and we did wait quite a while for the food. Anyhow, the food on platters was good'ish but not that good to be honest. With hindsight, we should have... More 

Helpful?
Thank david n
salford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here after Emmerdale Tour in Leeds. Our 4th time. Just had the 1 drink and found it very welcoming and friendly. A few guys in other room, and us 3 and another family in our room. Thursday night is a quiz night, so maybe get a few in for that. Would like to be there but a bit far... More 

Helpful?
Thank salfordreviewer
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Salford Reviewer, Really pleased that you once again enjoyed your visit to the Woolpack. You are becoming quite a regular even though you live some distance away. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We dined here, two couples staying at the nearby hotel on a Wednesday evening. We booked this online to experience the `Emmerdale' atmosphere. The menu we were given was very basic with little choice. There was no fish and chips available, we were told at the start. I ordered a fillet steak from the large blackboard listing the steak options... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Tom K, Once again we would like to apologise for having a number of things missing from the menu. You were right to expect more and, although we explained the reasons on the night, we can understand your disappointment. Taking the positives, it was good to hear that you enjoyed what you ordered. We hope we will be able... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I visited the village as part of a day trip. The pub was not what we expected, but that didn't make our visit any less enjoyable. The pub is small and a bit dark inside, but it's the perfect size for the village it serves. The village is absolutely fantastic as is the lady in the post... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Lynda D, Thanks for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Woolpack. As you say it is a quaint village pub. Although it sounds as though it was a bit of a gloomy day when you visited, it is nice and light inside when the sun shines, as the pub is south facing. We... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having had lunch there,which was awesome, was really excited about the evening meal - brought friends for celebration birthday meal - it was awful! So disappointing - the Yorkshire Puddings were like foam rubber - not good! They refunded one of our meals but hey! that's not the point - we weren't looking for a cheap night out! We won't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Balikissangel
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Ballykissangel, We are so disappointed to have gone from 'hero to zero' on your second visit. I can assure you that the team in the kitchen is the same during the day as it is in the evening. We realised that we had not delivered up to our usual high standards that is why we had no hesitation in... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arranged with The Woolpack to hold my Wife's '60th' Birthday party in the pub. Our plans were very much short notice, but Gillian & Peter were both fully committed and didn't hesitate in making sure our special event went according to plan and without hitch. We had a great evening with around 40 - 50 guests, we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank KGUYB
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thank you for choosing the Woolpack for Sharon's birthday party, we are so pleased you and your guests really enjoyed it. As you say, it is the perfect venue for a celebration and we received two bookings on the night from your guests, so thanks again. We are also delighted you enjoyed the chilli prepared by James and... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the Woolpack towards lunchtime. Although we had'nt booked we were found a table for our party of 4. The food was absolutely superb. There was plenty of choice and the food was freshly prepared and hot as opposed to being luke warm which is often the norm now! The vegetables were fresh not frozen and had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank XenaDog
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi XenaDog, Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we are so pleased we helped to make your day. We feel very honoured to be running the Woolpack pub. People come from miles around, including overseas, to visit us, we therefore want to make sure their trip is really enjoyable and memorable. As well as a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Value for money. Lovely hotel. My one complaint is the tour needs to advise that it is not disabled friendly. It's was extremely hilly slippery and cobbly. The wool pack wasn't what you see on Tv but the old one when Annie was around still nice and gentleman serving was lovely man

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Alison, We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Woolpack in Esholt and thank you for your kind words. Both the interior and exterior of the Wooly were used to film Ashley's emotional episode which was broadcast in Dec. The cobbled street you mention are in Haworth where you went after visiting us, as there are no... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend a visit to The Woolpack. We arrived at 3pm for a quick bite to eat and didn't leave until 6.30! Really good food, great beer and friendly staff. This is the first time we have been to Esholt but we felt as though we were in our local! We are looking forward to next time, thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rox86hardy
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

Hi Roxanne, It was great to meet the two of you Sunday. We are really pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Wooly and that you are coming back for the music evening on Fri 10th March. We love to welcome people to the pub and make them feel at home. Thanks for recommending us, we really appreciate it.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mmmmm left disappointed, clearly wasn't welcome, locals obviously come first. Had to ask for menus twice and still never got one! Won't be returning although Gent behind bar very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam O
Peterhamilt0n, Manager at The Woolpack, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed. Believe me if we could have fitted you in we would have done, as we hate turning business away. However as others on here have said it is best to book by calling ahead on 01274 809495. We were extremely courteous and apologetic and it was pointed out that we could not accommodate you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Woolpack also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Wine and Beer
Good for
Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Main Street | Esholt, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Bradford  >  Shipley
  • Phone Number: +44 1274 809495
Description
This lovely traditional country pub has to be the most famous 'working' pub in the country, as it is the original Emmerdale Woolpack and the only 'soap' pub where you can actually get a drink. It has a well-stocked bar and fine cask ales, and a tasty menu with plenty of choices for all appetites and budgets. The outside of the building provides a great photo opportunity and the inside is adorned with pictures of cast members, both present and past, providing a real trip down memory lane.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Woolpack and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?