We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prince of Wales

$$ - $$$, British,
48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
+44 1372 465483
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good19%
  • Average17%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible26%
1 week ago
“Disappointing location for Birthday Dinner”
4 weeks ago
“Great food very poor front of house service”
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we met our friend at the table as she was there before us - no one had served her after seating her at the table so she had gone to the bar to order her drink. We sat for some time struggling to...More

Thank Dawn W
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dawn W Thank you for your comments We are actively recruiting for staff to join and improve our team. We apologise for the service you received and we hope you will visit us again in the future so we can change you mind. Thank...More

Reviewed January 14, 2018

This is a great pub to pop into for lunch, it can get very busy at weekends so mid week is better. The staff are always very helpful and the beers are very good.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank MikeTurner1949
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MikeTurner1949 Thank you for the feedback Glad you have enjoyed your lunch with us at the Prince of Wales. Be great to see you again soon, why not join us for our Winter Comforts menu - it's fantastic! All the best Charlee Gallagher Deputy...More

Reviewed January 11, 2018

It used to be a perfect pub for good food and service. It is now a run of the mill one size fits all eatery, poor staff training no visible management very average food. Not recommended.More

Thank Doggie01
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Doggie01 We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us. We would like to rectify these problems you have raised. We are actively recruiting for staff to add to our team and improve our service. We do hope to see...More

Reviewed January 9, 2018

Food was not amazing. Bill was incorrect . Service was not good. How many bad things do you want. This survey is also bad.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank jillcG4188HW
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi JillG4188HW, Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear of the experience that you had with us and we are keen to resolve any issues. If you would like to speak to us directly about this please call 01372 465483 or pop...More

Reviewed January 6, 2018

my wife and i had booked a table for 2 at 18:30, as the pub was quiet we were seated quickly and swiftly ordered, which was starter, "pigie-in-blanket" and "peppered chicken goujons". both arrived with tainted wilted salad that was not touched. the mains were...More

Thank jcdandrd
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jcdandrd, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the experience that you had with us and we are keen to resolve the issues raised. We are actively recruiting staff to build and improve our team. Also we are looking into...More

Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely awful, food is rubbish, service is rubbish. Used to be lovely when was privately owned but now is a chain therefore is crap.More

Thank pmurgat
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello pmurgat We are sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience on your last visit to the Prince of Wales. We are actively recruiting for staff to improve and build our team which will help us deliver better service standards. We would love...More

Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Had great food in a lovely atmosphere and excellent service. Good work Charlee, you made the evening extra special.More

Thank Alistair R
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alistair R Thank you for your review and feedback on NYE - glad you had a great time. We hope to see you soon. We have a great selection of new ales on and also a new Winter Comforts menu for you to try....More

Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Heard some bad stuff & read about this lovely pub going downhill. Was only half full which a bad sign but our waiter was excellent throughout (young guy with glasses) and the food was definitely above average. Couple of food items unavailable which was disappointing...More

Thank Hally16
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Hally16 Thank you for the great feedback - we would love for you to try our new Winter Comforts Menu, its delicious! Look forward to seeing you soon All the best Charlee Gallagher Deputy Manager

Reviewed January 1, 2018

We had a party of 10 for the 5 course NYE meal. We had a great evening. Good food, good atmosphere and good service. Well done.

Thank mikegadbury
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello mikegadbury Very happy to hear you enjoyed your NYE with us. Why not join us again soon for Burns Night on 25th January? All the best Charlee Gallagher Deputy Manager

Reviewed January 1, 2018

Excellent Night - food was excellent, service brilliant, and real value for money, would do it again...

Thank Glenn G
6221_Manager_, Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Glenn G Thank you for joining us on NYE - glad you had a great time, we did too! Hopefully we will see you soon - maybe join us for Steak & Wine Saturdays for £20? All the best Charlee Gallagher Deputy Manager

PreviousNext
12345657
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Esher Hotels
Travelodge Walton-On-Thames
179 reviews
1.69 miles away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
497 reviews
1.77 miles away
Ashley Park Inn Keepers Lodge
13 reviews
1.85 miles away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
740 reviews
2.78 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cote Brasserie - Esher
407 reviews
.66 miles away
Sherpa Kitchen Nepalese Restaurant
259 reviews
.61 miles away
Giggling Squid Esher
355 reviews
.77 miles away
Zizzi - Esher
255 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Daytona Sandown Park
140 reviews
.90 miles away
Safari Adventure Golf
26 reviews
.94 miles away
Claremont Landscape Garden
253 reviews
.49 miles away
Barley Mow Hersham
26 reviews
.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lou B
January 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 6221_Manager_ | Property representative |
Hi Lou B We definitely allow dogs at the Prince of Wales in the bar area and outside. A great area to walk the dogs and pop in for a wine afterwards. Look forward to meeting you!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Esher
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 465483
Description
Phone number 01372 465483
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing