We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sage

Old Fort Road, Salt Rock 4420, South Africa
+27 32 525 8059
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good39%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (3 reviews)
“pizza” (21 reviews)
“calamari” (10 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Fort Road, Salt Rock 4420, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Sage Cafe and Deli in the pouring rain, only to find out that they only have 1 table inside and that it was occupied. We were shown to a lounge area. Not very comfortable with a toddler and a baby. The waiter...More

Thank ronnicmcdonald
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not being from the area, we would surely have missed this fine restaurant while cruising southbound on the N2, if we had not received a very favorable tip-off beforehand. So we heeded the advice and stopped on our way to Durban, and did not regret...More

Thank Mohnomishe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely old style building with a covered verandah, open kitchen, country feel. We had the grilled squid pesto salad which was delicious, plus ice coffee and smoothies. Cakes looked very tempting!

Thank Barbara G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit to sage. Beautiful location and nice and relaxed vibe. Waited almost a half hour for our drinks. Coffee was strong but good. Milkshake was nice. Waited another hour or more for our food. Food was mostly good and there is a lot of...More

Thank Jacques C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

15 of us ranging in age from one and a half to 68 were there on 18/12 The meze platters were very good as was the steak sami Service was very efficient

Thank grahamelane
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the food was uninteresting and bland. Regrettably the service was really bad. With many alternatives in the area I cannot recommend Sage.More

Thank Colin V
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hi Colin We are sorry for your bad experience, it's not often we get a bad review, such a pity you didn't discuss your experience with us before you did the review, this kind of platform is not always a constructive one. We pride ourselves...More

Reviewed November 11, 2017

We just like the selection of dishes for the Mezze platter. Although the menu has a large selection of meals, we always choose the Mezze dishes, they are delicious.

Thank Erwin M
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thanks Erwin we are so glad you enjoyed your meal. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

After the absolutelt terrible service we received in March 2017 I vowed never to return to Sage. Then today against my better judgement we did. However as per usual the establishment doesn't know it's left from its right. Staff don't communicate between each other. I...More

Thank MatthewFritz
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

HI Mathew In all fairness the table you sat at was reserved for a party. perhaps the manner in which this was handled was incorrect. It was the first time we had had a party in the new area and the client had booked out...More

Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

A must see when you're in this area. Absolutely child friendly. New playgrounds which keeps little ones occupied. The food is delicious and inside are lovely little self made sweets.

Thank Sandra G
sage125, Owner at Sage, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

MAny thanks for the review, so glad you had a happy time and loved my daughters sweet creations.

Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

A lekker relaxed restaurant to keep small children occupied. Under the massive tree you can try their cocktails, they are well priced. Burgers goes down well and the kids menu has good options. Well worth the stop.

Thank PJ B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Salt Rock Hotels
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
153 reviews
1.53 miles away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
110 reviews
2.33 miles away
Regal Inn Ballito
42 reviews
3.36 miles away
Ballito Manor
23 reviews
3.41 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Old North at Karibu
13 reviews
.55 miles away
Ray's Kitchen
100 reviews
.80 miles away
Delish Sisters Cafe
81 reviews
.12 miles away
BBM Cafe
145 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burnedale
17 reviews
.42 miles away
Flag Animal Farm
116 reviews
2.43 miles away
Thompson's Bay Beach
114 reviews
2.76 miles away
The Litchi Orchard
11 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Fort Road, Salt Rock 4420, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Salt Rock
  • Phone Number: +27 32 525 8059
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled within the natural and positively inspiring surrounds of the Sage Centre, Sage Café and Deli offers an excellent, wholesome and healthy food and drinks menu as well as an exceptionally warm, relaxing atmosphere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing