We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Flying Dutchman

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
19 High Street, Queenborough ME11 5AA, England
+44 1795 667189
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
FARNHAM, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2017

lasagne, garlic bread and salad for me and gammon, egg and chips for him both tasty, the right size and served on plates (not in this new-fangled idea of bowls which is a pet hate of ours). Refurbishment still going on but not too disruptive (although water stopped coming out of the taps when I tried to wash my hands... More 

Helpful?
Thank mermaidFARNHAM
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Apologies over the water problem, but it was unavoidable as the water board were relaying new pipes in the road at the rear of the building, it went off for about 15 mins hope to see you again if you visit the area, thanks for the review. More 

Warden, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017

We visited The Flying Dutchman today and we all had the carvery, it was lovely, generous portions and very friendly staff. I asked if I could go and see the parrot, "Dutchess" and whilst their was really impressed with the refurbishment in the front bar, it is really lovely, lovely work builders! Hot and tasty food, lovely staff, generous portions... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback on our front bar, it's been hardwork but worthwhile and it's nice to know it's appreciated, see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

Been to a fair few Carverys and this is my favourite one. Been back a few times with the family and it's always great. Good quality and plenty of it. Stuff the diet!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for chucking in the diet and leaving a great review, may I suggest for an extra £2 you can have an extra large carvery which gets you 3extra slices of meat and an extra Yorkshire. Show everyone your the guvnor and diets are for softies! More 

Sheerness
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2017

Good food in a scruffy local pub, it's a shame more effort is not taken with the athmosphere as the food is ok

Helpful?
Thank srp944
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for 4 stars and the good food comments but unfortunately that's where it ends, it seems you must have eaten it in the garden as you seemed to have missed a massive refurbishment that's been going on in the way of a recreation of the inside of a galleon in the front bar and a complete change in the... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

Really sorry but was very disappointed in the afternoon my friend and I arrived intending to have lunch. When we first arrived my friend and had a look in the newly renovated front bar which looks amazing and we would have liked to sat and dined there but instead we got beckoned to the back bar presumably because work was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suzysgems2
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

our new menus were sent back because of a printing error so we had to rush out some printed ones and laminate them I clearly remember you because I asked you to come to the other bar as the staff were just clearing up after a visit from a local special needs group we have in on a regular basis,... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2017

So glad to keep going back as I really enjoy this food and the best gravy ever (apart from my own). Shame that they still don't have bread sauce as it's so cheap and easy to make from scratch

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaHB-field
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Hold tight Emma we haven't forgotten you, we are running it from this weekend for a month to see how it goes and our gravy is much better than yours thanks for the review your a star More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Turned up on spec at the Flying Dutchman on Sunday lunchtime. It was extremely busy and there was a wait at the bar (new till system for ordering meals and there's only one till, so hence the backlog at the bar). Despite the wait to order, we had a lovely meal that was served promptly and it was reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lizald5
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thankyou for a lovely review, we have had an extra till installed this week and the staff seemed to have mastered them now so hopefully no more problems, see you again hopefully More 

Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2017

We visited this pub for lunch. Good atmosphere , friendly staff, we opted for the carvery. At around £6.00. Plenty of meat and veg. Would definatly return for a cheap lunch.

Helpful?
Thank WENDY N
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, our carvery is very popular during the week and it's all cooked fresh, see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

We had visited the Flying Dutchman on Saturday 28th Jan to find it was really busy but that didn't put us off one bit on arrival we was greeted by a plesent young man that accomadated us to our table we didn't book but that didn't seem a problem the tables were set out to a nice walm welcoming with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachelsssss
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thankyou for a really nice review, the staff are always pleased to see a review where they are praised and glad you enjoyed your meals, thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Four of us friends heard that the The Flying Dutchman had been redecorated so thought we go for a meal, must say it looks brilliant the work they have done ( looks like the inside of an old sailing ) the food was very good all four said how much we enjoyed our meal, but at 21.11 pm they turned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Having just seen your review I am upset by the way you have been treated and need to know what night you were in and who served you so it can be dealt with, we do close in the winter season early if it's in the midweek quite period to save on energy bills but there's no excuse for the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Flying Dutchman also viewed

Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
 
Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey
Harty, Isle of Sheppey
 

Been to The Flying Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 High Street, Queenborough ME11 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Sheppey  >  Queenborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1795 667189
Description
We are a 7 day a week pub/restaurant, serving a fresh daily carvery offering a choice of four meats with local sourced fresh vegetables. We serve locally caught fresh fish, flame grilled steaks of all cuts and sizes and are known for our homemade favourites. We serve local brewed ales and ciders as well as craft beer. We are a family run business supporting local businesses. Our restaurant is open 7 days a week. 12-9pm Monday-Saturday and 12-8 Sundays.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Flying Dutchman and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Rochester, United Kingdom
8 months ago
9 months ago
kent
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Flying Dutchman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?