We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Flying Dutchman

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
19 High Street, Queenborough ME11 5AA, England
01795 667189
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best food we've had out in a long time. I would 100% recommend, we was in a group no mistakes. Staff were brilliant all in all a good night!

Helpful?
Thank nikkip2323
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I know I have reviewed this place before but the standard to still as good as the first time I went. There was 10 of us in total we booked the day before and the was a table set for all of us when we arrived. The Staff was very polite and the food was good. Everyone enjoyed it. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Satania73
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thank-you for the second good review its really appreciated More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Go here a lot for the carvery and the fish , glad they have put the medium fish on ,there's no were better on the island for fish and chips, never been disappointed ,

Helpful?
Thank Marjie M
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

That was a lovely review thank you More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on the island for 3 days at the abbey hotel only had breakfast but found this place when went fishing eat here for the last to nights wife loved the carvery she had it both nights I had steak first night cooked perfect. Then had full ribs trust me when I say u need a big appertite. Don't understand... More 

Helpful?
Thank leighb1975
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Enjoyed your sense of humour didn't have the heart to tell you your trousers were to short hope to see you again More 

Brixton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit some friends on the island who took us to this restaurant in the harbour, absolutely stunning gardens and the food was lovely. I had the carvery which was perfect and all the veg was obviously fresh not frozen. 4 different meats excellent value at £5.95 during the week and I believe it's £7.50 on a Sunday.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueT1974
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to cook for you hope to see you again More 

Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Upon arrival I was a little disappointed with choice available, but did not let this cloud my judgement. There was not actually a menu to read when seated, so it was necessary to hover around their wall menu to choose. All four of us in our party chose something different. The prawn curry arrived, served with rice. It had obviously... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cob15
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

You didn't like to complain but decided to set up a TripAdvisor account just for our restraunt? More 

Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

Good food with a really good selection reasonable priced. Friendly staff with a good selection of drinks .

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for the review hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Nice food at exception prices. Plenty of room for larger groups, beer good too, nice atmosphere, nice garden, nice staff. Many visitors from the vessels in the harbour from all over, which makes for an interesting place at times.

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for the review it was very appreciated More 

sheerness kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had Sunday cavery here this past weekend .Lovely food , fast service , friendly staff. Nice dessert . Toilets could do with updating .

Helpful?
Thank karentia
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review, our toilets are being updated in the next few weeks. More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Just round in the next street to this family pub is an outlet selling fresh wet fish and yet my friend and I were served up the worst fried fish I have ever had.. This was a piece of battered skate that can only be described as being like rubber bands wrapped in greasy cardboard. It was hopelessly over cooked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FinesseFanatic
Kevin B, Owner at The Flying Dutchman, responded to this review

We are supplied by the establishment around the corner you mentioned and are always getting complimented for our fish I think maybe your complaint was more a case you hadn't seen the sign that said please tell us how you would like your fish cooked the only other complaint we received that evening was from the gentleman whose food you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Flying Dutchman also viewed

Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
Harty, Isle of Sheppey
 
Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
Minster on Sea, Isle of Sheppey
 

Been to The Flying Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet, Waitstaff
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 High Street, Queenborough ME11 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Sheppey  >  Queenborough
  • Phone Number: 01795 667189

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Flying Dutchman and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
6 days ago
6 days ago
kent
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Flying Dutchman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?