We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Formerly Pisces Restaurant, the newly renovated Primo Bar & Bistro is making waves on the Barbadian scene. This beautiful open-plan restaurant and lounge located just off the boardwalk is an ideal spot for more casual dining or just a quick bite and drinks. The Mediterranean influence includes an extensive variety of fresh seafood, meat and pasta dishes. Eat, drink and relax in a unique ocean chic setting overlooking the picturesque bay in St. Lawrence Gap. Make your reservations to dine at our Bistro at the below link: https://primo.dinemaestro.com/DMA/public/default.asp
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $100
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2,039)
Filter reviews
1,980 results
Traveler rating
1,227
382
197
98
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,227
382
197
98
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank crab cakes salmon pasta cheesecake our waiter last night the gap waters edge the cliff beautiful restaurant special occasion birthday dinner fine dining overlooking the water flying fish catch of the day
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On holiday in Barbados for a wedding and ended up in need of an early dinner as we had missed lunch. We walked the length of St. Lawrence Gap and back again, preferring the menu selection that Primo had to offer. We were seated right...away on the lower deck next to the sea. Our server, Shaniel, was engaging and attentive, turning on a fan above us and lowering the awnings to protect us from the sun. We both had their “Mahro” cocktail, a lovely blend of rum, banana liqueur, mango… and smoked cinnamon which was both pleasing to the eye and palate (you’ve got me when anything contains mango). Shaniel also brought us a basket of fresh made, savory rolls that were very yummy. My husband enjoyed the Spiced Pork Tenderloin, whereas I went with two starters for my meal; the Crispy Pork Bites and the Homemade Spicy Meatballs. My Pork Bites arrived ahead of my meatballs and they were so good I thought I might have to request a second order (even though there were six of them). Then my meatballs arrived, each meatball at least four bites each to get through, so in the end I didn’t need the second order of Pork Bites or have room for dessert. Shaniel was sweet and attentive, re-filling our water glasses, asking if we were in need of anything and opening the awnings so that we could enjoy the sunset. Her open and engaging manner made our meal more enjoyable. We will definitely return to try other items on their menu like their New Zealand Lamb Shank or their Jambalaya Primo Style… but who am I kidding? I’ll be ordering more of their Crispy Pork Bites (and another Mahro to go with them)!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After an 8 month wait to get back to Barbados. We arrived and booked a table The service was amazing aswell as the food The scenery The food was ten out of ten If you are visiting the island the place is a must

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is beautiful! The service was perfect! The food was some of the best we have had in Barbados. We loved our experience there and hope to do it again soon.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can’t remember our waitresses name or the chef but both were amazing! They have vegan pizza listed and our son is allergic to Dairy and Egg so we look for these things. They didn’t have the pizza because they were having a hard time...getting the vegan cheese but they did have a pasta dish that my son loved and the chef even brought him a strawberry sorbet that was dairy free at the end of the meal! I enjoyed listening to the waves as we ate dinner the view was awesome and the chef came to check on us a couple of times!! We really enjoyed our visit and I was very nervous after reading some of the negative reviews but ours was awesome! So glad we went for it!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic service and ambience, lovely view of the water. Fish goujon starter was delicious, however the pizza definitley wasn’t freshly made and was very average.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was most exceptional service I have recieved dining in barbados Our waiter was amazing you hostess at the front amazing Food phenomenal thank you

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly I’d like to say , the position of primo is perfect . And it’s not vegetarian friendly !! The staff were rude. Major attitude . The soup had a fish bone in it . We were nit happy at all , when I declined...to tip the table over its terrible service , we got even more attitude .More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zary Evelyn, Owner at Primo Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir, I am shocked to hear about your experience at Primo, we pride ourselves on outstanding service and our guests having an amazing experience. I would definitely like to investigate this further; would you be so kind to contact me directly so I can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After seeing the restaurant consistently packed our entire trip, we decided that we had to see what the hype was about. And we were not disappointed! The view, ambience, and restaurant were breathtaking. I had the Pork Tenderloin and it was honestly one of the...best meals I've ever had. The entire staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and accommodating, particularly our server, Sasha. It was so good, in fact, we came back the next night! This time, I had the Jambalaya, which was delicious and extremely filling (I can eat a lot, and I still had leftovers). The staff, including our server the second time, Randelle, were once again a delight. They even brought us a bon voyage dessert after a passing mention of it being our last night on the island. If you're in the St. Lawrence Gap (or honestly, if you're in Barbados in general and have the time) you NEED to check out Primo. If I could rate it more than five stars, I would in a heartbeat.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zary Evelyn, Owner at Primo Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, much appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food, service and ambience were top notch. My waitress was the most friendliest and helped cater to the needs of my elderly dad.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zary Evelyn, Owner at Primo Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your Primo experience, thanks for your wonderful review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful setting, good service, the food was lovely, slightly pretentious, and not as relaxed as some of the other places, i would chose Mimosas over Primo as it was a similar view but more relaxed

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Primo last night, were seated after 10 minutes , menus and delicious bread were promptly served. The setting is beautiful, right next to the waters edge and the waiters were really attentive. We ordered our mains starters which were very nice.- mac n...cheese for me and Burger for the wife. Wife's burger arrived it was luke warm.. Front of house service no the best. After going to mimosa the night before this was not a patch on Their service. Wished we'd of booked there for her birthday. Very disappointedMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here on our last night and it was well worth it , the table was over looking the ocean so that was a good start , we ordered fish goujons to start and shared them as portions looked big , they were really...nice , we had Parmesan crusted barracuda and ribs for main and both dishes were excellent , the service was good and not intrusive , we had a couple of drinks after our meal whilst sat watching the waves , the bill was slightly more than other places on the gap but this place is definitely a notch up for location and food I would definitely eat here again and recommend, a lovely place to have a mealMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service. Food was not only well presented but tasted good. Will really do with another Lamb shank...lol. The waiter was very professional and made the experience one to remember.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

During are 2 weeks in barbados we ate at primo three times. This place is wonderful ,lovely food ,good service and a beautiful location. Any one coming to barbados HAS tocome here, it is one of are favourites. Thank-you primo , we will be back

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zary Evelyn, Owner at Primo Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Awesome review, thanks for your kind sentiments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're around the St. Lawrence Gap area of Barbados you absolutely must go to Primo's for dinner or drinks. Firstly, the location is fabulous as it's right on the ocean. And Secondly the large interior is gorgeous and contemporary with plenty of space between...tables. Thirdly...the food choice is great with something for everyone. Just delicious and presented beautifully! And last but certainly not least is the Staff! So friendly, accommodating and professional you couldn't ask for more!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Little Bay Hotel
17 reviews
.04 miles away
Yellow Bird Hotel
912 reviews
.04 miles away
South Gap Hotel
325 reviews
.10 miles away
Rostrevor Hotel
917 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Harlequin Restaurant
2,956 reviews
.11 miles away
On The Bay
261 reviews
.04 miles away
Cocktail Kitchen
1,197 reviews
.02 miles away
Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary
113 reviews
.24 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Barbados Magic Lounge
105 reviews
.06 miles away
Naaman's Bar Stop
6 reviews
.08 miles away
Barry's Surf Barbados Surf School
530 reviews
.65 miles away
Bike Caribbean
116 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Home R
November 3, 2022|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 934hayleyt | Reviewed this property |
Both are beautiful. Go early for sunset. You won't be disappointed
0
Votes
jc0425
March 10, 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lisaj80 |
This restaurant has new ownership and has reopened with brand new menus. Check it out
1
Vote
Annaleen L
July 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from bgidreamer | Property representative |
Oooooh ok! I am glad to hear that! And in that case - thank you for the great review! :-)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PRIMO BAR & BISTRO, St. Lawrence Gap - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Primo Bar & Bistro

Yes, Primo Bar & Bistro is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Primo Bar & Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5