We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apsara Samudra

Waverley House, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
+1 246-420-5454
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“thai food” (45 reviews)
“curries” (42 reviews)
“naan bread” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Thai, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Waverley House, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 250 of 803 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2016

Like in india..no other word...!! Terrific food and services..including the amazing layout of the restaurant. Authentic frontier and all the fabric beautiful.

1  Thank Aletender
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you for your review of Apsara Samudra. We chose our decor to give our customers a bit of ambiance that mirrored what a person might experience in India. Seems like we accomplished that mission! Please do visit us again.

Reviewed March 2, 2016

The restaurant is in a Lovely setting and is decorated very nicely. 2 of us went for Indian & I had Thai. I choose 2 veggie thai dishes because they were $33 each, half the price of the meat versions, which were expensive at $60+...More

1  Thank MarkAshwell
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Hello Mark, unfortunately your discussion as to pricing is entirely flawed. The fact of the matter is that our restaurant is located in Barbados, not London. We are a small island that imports a significant percentage of our food. The government statistics on this are...More

Reviewed March 2, 2016

Booked into the restaurant after reading reviews online. We booked into the restaurant for the last night of our holiday as we wanted it to be special. Our table was booked for 830pm so we arrived 5 minutes before this. We were asked to take...More

Thank Holiday-Lover81
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not contribute to a final special evening in Barbados. What you have described is unacceptable and we will continue to highlight comments such as yours to our team so as to ultimately improve our...More

Reviewed March 1, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Apsara Samudra! We made our reservation a few days early and we were seated right by the water! The service was superb. We had ordered the red and green Thai curry - one chicken, one vegetable. The chicken one...More

1  Thank Tatiana M
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you Tatiana for visiting us, we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are on the island.

Reviewed February 28, 2016

A great setting by the ocean with Thai style decor. We had a nice meal that was ok but nothing special. The prices are steep, the most expensive meal we had in Barbados but not one of the best.

Thank Michelle W
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are not certain of the other establishments that you would have dined at, but we are confident that our prices are consistent with other fine dining establishments in St. Lawrence Gap and indeed across the island.

Reviewed February 27, 2016

Booked 6 weeks ago, and requested a rail table. Did not get one, but no mention of this on arrival. We arrived on time, and were ushered to a waiting area, where we were left for 20 minutes, without being offered a drink. Then shown...More

Thank cath1London
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Hello, we deeply apologize that you did not get the table that you requested. The number of tables by the sea is very limited and we should have notified you on arrival of this. We also regret that you were not provided with any beverages...More

Reviewed February 26, 2016 via mobile

Having been on numerous occasions couldn't wait to go back. Sevices very slow on this occasion. Drinks service haphazard. I honestly don't think the food was as good as before. Maybe just a bad night. Won't be rushing back though. 😁

Thank Emelda
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Hello Emelda, we regret that you didn't have a positive experience on this occasion. We hope to improve on some of the areas that you have brought to our attention, and we hope that you will reconsider visiting us in the future.

Reviewed February 26, 2016

Loved the crockery, blue & white with a black base to show off the food. Lovely dish for rice too. Service could be a bit more forthcoming. Shows Thai menu. Wel presented.

2  Thank mlaurenson
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you for your review and for visiting Apsara Samudra. We are pleased that you enjoyed the appearance of our crockery, please do visit us again.

Reviewed February 26, 2016

I always look to forward to my meals here, and my most recent experience lived up to my expectations. The decor and ambience is excellent and the food is extremely tasty and beautifully presented. The choice is wide as it covers both Indian and Thai...More

2  Thank JockScot
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Thank you for returning to Apsara Samudra. We are pleased to learn that we continue to provide you with an excellent dining experience. Please let us know if there are any areas that we can improve upon for your future visits.

Reviewed February 25, 2016

Staff could not be more helpful and attentive without being "in your face" the food was the best Indian food we've tasted my partner asked about a dish and there was no problem for them to do this and the setting was awesome

Thank sue s
ApsaraSamudra, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Hello Sue, thank you for visiting us and for writing this favourable review.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
My Friends Place
172 reviews
.29 miles away
Happy Days Cafe
478 reviews
.36 miles away
Harlequin Restaurant
2,039 reviews
.05 miles away
Stream
198 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dover Beach
1,293 reviews
.42 miles away
Barry's Surf Barbados Surf School
397 reviews
.59 miles away
Tiki Bar
148 reviews
.94 miles away
Crystal Waters Bar
88 reviews
.35 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pamela M
June 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jo Jo Q | Reviewed this property |
Hi yes smart shorts. It's too hot for trousers really.
0
Votes
cottontail_10
December 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from indiandancer | Property representative |
Dear Cottontail, Thank you so much for reaching out to us. Due to the age of the building which houses the restaurant and the fact that the main beam on the ground floor runs above the bathrooms, we are unable to widen the... More
1
Vote
farahhasan84
April 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Gill S | Reviewed this property |
The prices were in BBDs we paid total $240 BDs for drinks and 3 courses for 2 people
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$40
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 2:00 am
Monday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Waverley House, St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Barbados  >  Christ Church Parish  >  St. Lawrence Gap
  • Phone Number: +1 246-420-5454
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing