We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Raven Pub

Main Road, Ballaugh
+44 1624 896128
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“brie” (3 reviews)
“fish and chips” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Ballaugh
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just called on the off chance to see if we could eat here, we were a party of five adults and first impressions were good. The lady who served us was helpful, friendly and did not rush us. The food portions were huge! We...More

Thank CAmille B
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

We have used the Raven often in the past, but the meals now lack quality, chickpea and carrot burger had the texture of being just defrosted and was tasteless, rump steak was tuff, something has changed since our last visit,usually lots of people in the...More

Thank Ean C
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Ean C Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback of the Raven. I am disappointed to hear of the 'defrosted texture and tasteless' as all our breaded chickpea, carrot, onion & courgette burgers are made in house...More

Reviewed November 5, 2017

I went to this pub/restaurant for dinner with two local friends when visiting in September 2017. The Raven was recommended and we had been told the food was very good and were looking forward to our meal. We had reserved a table and on arrival...More

Thank Anita W
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hi there Anita W Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. I am very disappointed to learn of your poor experience as this is not the level of service we aim to achieve. We hope that all our team...More

Reviewed October 26, 2017

My husband called to book a table for Saturday night. He was told there was no need to book. So when we arrived there were no tables for 6 people. We had to squash on to a table for 4 people. The staff were nice...More

Thank twirliewoo
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Hi there twirliewoo Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. I am very disappointed to learn of your experience as this is not the high standard of customer service we aim to achieve. We offer continuous training to our...More

Reviewed October 12, 2017

The raven in ballaugh Lovely scampi and chips Nice pub and good price Friendly staff Would return again

Thank manxcat19712017
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Wife and I had Fish pie......was just potato and salmon, not really tasty, with flavour considerably lacking and at lust under £20 without drinks not good value, will admit that there was plenty of salmon in the pie, but still no taste to it, had...More

Thank Barry J
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hi there Barry J Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback of The Raven. I am sorry to learn your Fish Pies were not up to our usual high standard. We go to great efforts to serve tasty meals...More

Reviewed October 9, 2017

My friend and I decided to go to "The Raven" for lunch today. I chose the vegetarian pasta option with sunblushed tomatoes, artichokes and garlic bread. I got a HUGE plate of uncooked chewy pasta, Tomato sauce most likely from a jar, hardly any artichokes...More

Thank Hantony18
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Team at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Hi Hantony18, Thank you for contacting us about your recent visit to The Raven. We are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We'd like to look into your food experience further, and would...More

Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here 4 times during our holiday on this island and it is great!!! Steak and ale pie is amazing and the portions are very generous! Meal for two including drinks starters and mains for less than £30 and it was that nice...More

Thank dannylewtas
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Typical chain pub food, staff friendly, food ok and hot. Wish they had a little more choice or more specials like their other pub The British.More

Thank Susan D
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hi there Susan D Thank you for taking the time to write to us and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Raven. Thank you for your feedback regarding our menu. We are currently reviewing our menus with the aim of changing onto our...More

Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Came to this pub several times for meals in 2015 and it was AMAZING came back in 2017 and it had changed hands. Ordered lasagne and chips and hubby ordered fish and chips it was shocking !!! lasagne was frozen solid in the middle and...More

2  Thank hildaandstan
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Raven Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi there hildaandstan Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your experience at the Raven. I am very disappointed to learn our your poor meals, and your husband's subsequent illness. Across our estate, we hold food hygiene at the upmost importance...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wheat Free Patisserie at the Tea Barn
40 reviews
3.03 miles away
The Guard House Cafe
142 reviews
3.50 miles away
La Mona Lisa
317 reviews
8.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Curraghs Wildlife Park
167 reviews
1.26 miles away
Isle of Man Motor Museum
138 reviews
3.50 miles away
Snaefell Mountain Railway
228 reviews
4.57 miles away
JURBY KARTING limited
5 reviews
3.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Manninagh
July 18, 2017|
Answer
Response from CJ From Guildford | Reviewed this property |
Great
1
Vote
woozie01
March 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Christine B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - don't know
0
Votes
Peter H
April 19, 2015|
Answer
Response from David H | Property representative |
Hi Pete, If you park up on the Glen Road you will have access to the pub. By parking here it is also possible to travel to any point on the island. Come and Join us. Great viewing for the TT. Dave Manager The Raven
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Ballaugh
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Ballaugh
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 896128
  • E-mail
Description
The Raven is set on the Famous Isle of Man TT Course at Ballaugh Bridge. Great Views from The Terrace during the Races.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing